Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEOL 3410 - Sedimentation & Stratigraphy: Finding Background Info

Tips for Success

Gathering background information, getting a general overview, and building context for your topic are some of the first steps to doing research. You may also pick up related terms, concepts, and synonyms you can use in your searching.

Some good places to look for background information are:

  • Encyclopedias
  • Dictionaries
  • Handbooks
  • Basic books (handbooks, possibly textbooks)

Libraries have subject-specific encyclopedias and dictionaries that have more information than reference books you may have seen before. 


 

Other Reference Resources

The library has databases that are collections of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.  However, these are not necessarily great sources for geology at this time.

SAGE eReference

A collection of onine reference material that covers sociology, social work, multicultural and gender studies,political science, psychology, anthropology, criminal justice, health & medicine. Main page allows for searching across all titles and subjects in the collection.


Credo Reference 

Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information. Has images and concept map too. See the tutorial below and more info about Credo Reference below.

Geology Reference Books

The majority of our geology encyclopedias and dictionaries are online.  You can click on the title and then the View Online link.  If you are off-campus, you will need to sign in with your NetID and password.