Welcome
How this guide can help:
The guide is arranged to help you navigate the library's resources and utilize the services available to you.
Contact Me!
We're Here to Help
Use the Ask Us! service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer chat and text, or you can email your question.
You may also Request Research Assistance with a librarian or specialist.
Library Directory
Alkek One
Services: ITAC Help Desk, Print Shop
Spaces: DesignSpace, GeoSpace, Immersion Studio, MakerSpace, YouStar Studios: Video Recording, Audio Recording, Production, Open Computers (behind stairs)
Floor 2
Services: Ask Alkek Desk: 245-2686, Library Material Checkout, Reserve, Secured Collection, Laptops, Interlibrary Loan pick up, Lost & Found, Government Document Assistance, Public Computers, Security Guard
Spaces: Open Computers, Printers, Media Corner, Open Theater, Reservable Collaboration Rooms
Offices: Vice Provost, University Librarian, Room 204: 245-2133, Administration Offices 204 & 209
Floor 3
Resources: Collections: DVDs, CDs, Equipment, Juvenile Collection, Current Periodicals, Popular Reading, Language Learning CDs, Models, Kits, Microfilm, Graphic Novels, TCMC Collection (K-12 Textbooks), Government Documents, Games, Toys, Maps
Offices: University Copyright Office, Room 350: 245-1090, Research Data Services Office, 350.
Floor 4
Spaces: Library Instruction (440), Instruction Lab (452), Conference Halls A & B, Lounge with Vending Machines and Microwaves
Resources: Government Documents Collection (Check in at the Ask Us! Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library for assistance.)
Offices: Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC) Room 411: 245-2515, Veterans Academic Success Center (VASC) Room 404: 245-6192
Floor 5
Spaces: Quiet Study Areas, Nursing Mother's Room (536), individual and group study rooms
Resources: A-J General Collection
Offices: University Archives: UnivArchives@txstate.edu
Floor 6
Spaces: Quiet Study Areas, Computer Lab: 245-2106, Group Study Rooms
Resources: K-Z General Collection
Floor 7
Spaces: Open Study Areas, Individual and group study rooms
Resources: The Wittliff Collections: 245-2313
Library Hours (Fall, Spring Semesters)
| DAYS | HOURS |
| MONDAY-THURSDAY | 7:30 AM TO 1 AM |
| FRIDAY | 7:30 AM TO 8 PM |
| SATURDAY | 10 AM TO 6 PM |
| SUNDAY | 10 AM TO 1 AM |
Library Hours: 245-2187
Hours vary for interim, holidays, finals
Class Evaluation/Feedback
| ILL - Scan Request - TexShare |
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996; Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library. - Scanning RequestThe University Libraries will scan and deliver chapters and articles from its print resources. Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service. We will scan chapters and articles only (max. 50 pages). We cannot scan entire books or journal issues. Limit: 1 request per person per day. Please allow three (3) working days for processing. Library staff will deliver an electronic file via ILLiad or via email.
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.