Start Your Research & Google Scholar
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
Finding Dissertations
Databases come from the Dissertations & Theses Databases by Type page.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
Full text of dissertations from universities between 1933 and 1955, plus additional indexing to more recent dissertations.
Primary Resource Databases
Primary Resources databases.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowVariety of primary sources from the 15th to the 21st centuries. Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals; 19th Century US Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850; 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; Archives Unbound; Times Digital Archive; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Sunday Times Digital Archive; American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; Archives Unbound; Associated Press Collections; British Library Newspapers; Sabin Americana, 1500-2013; Religions of America.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital collective of books and journals from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 and Caribbean History & Culture, 1535-1920 This link opens in a new window
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1920.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowLocal U.S. newspapers with select digitization of historic pages, representing a state's regional history, geographic coverage, and events in a particular time period. 1690-present
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Contributions to arts, entertainment, sciences, business, military, and politics from prominent individuals as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Late 1700s to present.
Philosophy & Humanities Databases
Philosophy subject databases
- Humanities Source and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Indexing covers journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. 1940 to present.
