Search Terms
Listed below are search terms for you to use when searching for resources about Rome.
- "Ancient Rome"
- "Rome" or "Romans"
- "Eternal City"
- "Roman Republic"
- "Democracy"
- "Etruscans"
- "Romulus"
- "Remus"
- "Tiber River"
- "Roman Forum"
- "Colosseum"
- "Plebs" or "Plebeian"
- "Roman Empire"
Books from other libraries
If you are interested in books which are not owned by the Alkek Library, they can be requested via our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow them from another library. This is a free service available to current Texas State Students, Faculty, Staff. NOTE: This process takes 7-10 days for books.
To request a book, open our ILLIAD link for interlibrary loan and fill out the online request form.
If you have not used the service before, just click near the bottom of the page at the "First time users" link to set up your free account.
-
WorldCat (public version) This link opens in a new window
Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
Free Audiobook
A pivotal text for ancient Rome scholars, you can now download and listen to Edward Gibbon's The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire for free! Click on the link below.
-
Decline and fall of the Roman EmpireHosted by LibriVox.
Select Monographs (Books) from Library Catalog
Monographs:
Campbell, Brian, The Romans and their World. Yale UP, 2011,
Flower, Harriet I. Roman Republics. Princeton UP, 2010,
Gaskell, Phillip. Landmarks in Classical Literature. (E-book) 1999
Hölkeskamp, Karl-Joachim, Reconstructing the Roman Republic: An Ancient Political Culture and Modern Research, tran. Henry Heitmann-Gordon. Princeton UP, 2010
Hoyos, Dexter, ed. A Companion to Roman Imperialism. Brill, 2013,
Isaac, Benjamin. The Invention of Racism in Classical Antiquity. Princeton UP, 2004
Leonhardt, Jürgen, Latin: Story of a World Language, trans. Kenneth Kronenberg. Harvard UP, 2013,
Mattingly, David J. Imperialism, Power, and Identity: Experiencing the Roman Empire. Princeton UP, 2014,
Nelson, Eric. The Complete Idiot’s Guide to the Roman Empire. Alpha, 2002,
Potter, David S., ed. A Companion to the Roman Empire. Blackwell Pub., 2006,
Rantala, Jussi, ed. Gender, Memory, and Identity in the Roman World. Amsterdam UP, 2019,
Rosenstein, Nathan. Rome and the Mediterranean 290 to 146 BC: The Imperial Republic. Edinburgh UP, 2012,
Steel, Catherine, The End of the Roman Republic 146 to 44 BC: Conquest and Crisis. Edinburgh UP, 2013,
Taylor, Donathan, Roman Republic at War: A Compendium of Battles from 498 to 31 BC. Pen & Sword Military, 2017,
Electronic Book Collections
The library at TXST has access to thousands of electronic books. Some are in our catalog (see "Books" tab above) and others are in databases.
Here are a few key databases that may contain books of interest
-
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowSmall multi-subject collection of ebooks and e-journals from Cambridge University Press. 1856 - present.
-
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of academic ebooks to read online or download.
-
Ebook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThousands of scholarly and professional electronic books. Dates vary.
-
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new windowOxford journals and eBooks covering multiple disciplines (1966-present), plus Oxford Scholarship Online and several Oxford Handbooks.
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital collective of books and journals from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Library of Congress Classification: DE & DG
Books about Italy & the Greco-Roman world are located in the stacks under DE & DG. For details about specific call numbers (sub-classified by period, criticism, collections, individual authors, etc.) see the document below.