ARTstor Image Use
"ARTstor images are available for strictly pedagogical and scholarly purposes, as outlined in our Terms of Use. No ARTstor images may be used for publication or commercial purposes." - From ARTstor Digital Library FAQs
Finding Images using Library Image Databases
The library's image databases are databases that the library subscribes to. They are generally going to have more high quality, high resolution images than images you find through Google or other free image websites. Some of the sites listed on the Image Websites tab DO have larger resolution files.
Image Databases
This is a list of some image databases related mostly to art and design, but if you need more or other types of images, for example medical, historical, multi-cultural, there are many more on the Image Databases page.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present. Contains reference works, ebooks, and images.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture This link opens in a new window
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Engineering Images
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) from 1950 to present. Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards from 1988 to present.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window The ARTstor platform will be retired on August 1, 2024. All existing and new content has been moved to JSTORHigh-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.