Suggested Flim Related Databases for Finding Articles & Images
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
Communication Studies Databases could also be another good source for articles since they can cover visual communication theories.
Primary Source Databases
You could also check out our newspaper databases, especially the historical ones, for good resources on art. Newspaper articles from the time period of the work of art can be considered a primary source material.
- Newspaper DatabasesThe library subscribes to many newspaper databases.
These cover current, as well as historical time periods.
Newspapers often have death notices or other biographical information on individuals.
Databases for Criticism & Reviews
See also the entire Theater & Performing Arts database list, the Newspaper databases, and possibly the Literature and Language databases for more search options.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews, critical analysis, film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspect. 1914 to present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
- Humanities Source and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEnglish & American poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day plus journals, criticism & reference resources on authors and their works.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Information about and criticisms of authors, novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Includes several major Gale publications such as Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Contemporary Authors. Current.
- MLA International BibliographyContains article citations from scholarly journals, chapters of books, and dissertations. Our provider for MLA is EbscoHost. Although MLA does not include the full-text of articles, it does link to the articles if it is available in another EbscoHost database that we provide access.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Understanding a Journal Citation
You'll see something like this:
It's important to know the parts of a citation so you can interpret it correctly. You must have at least the Journal name, volume, issue, and page number to be able to locate the article.