Worldcat
- WorldCat (public version) This link opens in a new windowIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan. For more search options, use WorldCat on FirstSearch.
- WorldCat (on FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan. This version of WorldCat does not offer permalinking, use the public version instead.
Databases From Texas State University Libraries
- Archives Unbound: Middle East collection This link opens in a new window
Primary documents on foreign trade, shipping, and immigration in areas such as Syria, the UK, Lebanon, Afghanistan, Iraq, Turkey, France and more. Many documents from the collections are from the U.S. State Department Classified Files and British Foreign Office. 1869-1992.
- Archives Unbound Search TutorialBrief instructions on searching Archives Unbound databases.
- Churchill Archive This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection of Winston S. Churchill's personal correspondence and official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. 1874-1965.
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices covering early events in Afganistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. 1839-1969.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
The principal record of political and historical open source intelligence of the United States. Many of these materials are firsthand reports/broadcasts of events as they occurred. 1941-1974
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Many popular newspapers, dating back as far as the 19th century. Includes Black Historical Newspapers. Access for each paper begins with the first issue published, end dates are varied and evolving.
- Stalin Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Russian language documents, correspondence and biographical material by and about Stalin. English translations of related primary sources are provided by the Yale University Press Annals of Communism book series. 1889-1952. Users must access on campus or via VPN. Known issues with off-campus access.
Article Databases From Texas State Libraries
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- PAIS Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Indexes documents which provide historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies around the world. 1914 to present.
Online Archive Repositories
- National Security ArchiveFounded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveThe Wilson Center Digital Archive is a resource where students, researchers, journalists, and others can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world.
Constructed and maintained by the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world, much of it in English translation. The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide unique insights into recent international history, and serve to deepen and enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges. - Hoover Institute Digital Collections-Cold WarCurated Primary documents on Cold War from Hoover Institute at Stanford University
- Papers Relating To the Foreign Relations of the United StatesSometimes shortened to FRUS