Systematic Reviews

Researchers in different disciplines have developed frameworks to help break a review question down into sub-questions. These frameworks are helpful in terms of guiding you to clearly and specifically state the question. Among existing frameworks, PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome) is the most commonly known, but there are others you could consider according to your study's purpose and topic. See the information provided in table below based on Assembling the Pieces of Systematic Review: A Guide for Librarians, edited by Margaret J. Foster, and Sarah T. Jewell. 

General

• PRISMA Statement

  PRISMA (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses) is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting systematic reviews and meta-analyses which focuses on randomized trials but can also be used interventions. The PRISMA 2020 Statement was published in 2021 and comprises a 27-item checklist addressing the introduction, methods, results, and discussion sections of a systematic review report. It consists of a checklist and a flow diagram; and is intended to be accompanied by the PRISMA 2020 Explanation and Elaboration document.

• PRISMA Elaboration and Explanation

  It is strongly recommended that the PRISMA 2020 Statement be used in conjunction with the PRISMA 2020 Explanation and Elaboration Document. This document is intended to enhance the use, understanding and dissemination of the PRISMA 2020 Statement. Through examples and explanations, the meaning and rationale for each checklist item are presented.

• PRISMA Checklist

  The PRISMA 2020 Statement includes a checklist addressing the 27 items to be reported in
  the introduction, methods, results and discussion sections of a systematic review.

• PRISMA Flow Diagram

  The flow diagram depicts the flow of information through the different phases of a systematic review. It maps out the number of records identified, included and excluded, and the reasons for exclusions. Different templates are available depending on the type of review (new or updated) and sources used to identify studies.

• PRISMA for Scoping Reviews (PRISMA-ScR)

  The PRISMA-ScR extension for scoping reviews was published in 2018. The checklist contains 20 essential reporting items and 2 optional items to include when completing a scoping review.

• PRISMA for systematic review Protocols (PRISMA-P)

  The PRISMA-P extension was published in 2015 aiming to facilitate the development and reporting of systematic review protocols.

Education & Social Sciences

• Campbell MECCIR Standards

  Methodological Expectations of Campbell Collaboration Intervention Reviews (MECCIR) are guides to the conduct and reporting of systematic reviews. Campbell Coordinating Groups manage the publication process in these topic areas: Aging, Business Management, Child & Young Persons Wellbeing, Climate Solutions, Crime & Justice, Disability, Education, International Development, Knowledge Translation & Implementation, Methods, and Social Welfare.

• EPPI-Centre

  Based in the U.K. at the University College London, the center offers guidance on conducting systematic reviews across many areas of social science policy, such as: education, health, social care, developing economies, sport, environment, and crime.

• What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) - Procedures & Standards Handbooks

  Includes standards and procedures handbooks for conducting systematic reviews to be submitted to WWC for publication. Also provides supplemental guides for understanding the standards and procedures. Topic areas include: Dropout Prevention, Early Childhood, Educator Excellence and School Leadership, English Learners, Literacy, School Choice, STEM, Supporting Children with Developmental Disabilities, and Supportive Learning Environments.

Health & Medical Sciences

• Cochrane Guides & Handbooks

  Cochrane is an international network for systematic reviews in health and medicine with headquarters in the UK. It provides access to protocols and reviews as well as guides and handbooks for conducting and reporting Cochrane systematic reviews.

• OHAT Handbook

  The National Toxicology Program within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services produces the OHAT (Office of Health Assessment and Translation) Handbook and a "risk of bias" tool for assessing human and non-human studies.

Source:   Standards & Guidelines_TAMU