Suggested Research Databases
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. 1970s to present.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Documents of the LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century to present.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues of sexuality and gender throughout history and current impacts on LGBTQ communities around the world. Current access includes four collections: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts 1-2,; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; Community and Identity in North America.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the LGBT community through 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications including The Advocate and Gay Times. 1954-2015.
- MoreDiverse.comA web database for discovering more diverse books. As of January 2018, the database has over 300 books. Through the database, you can now search for a book with a straight, white, male protagonist and get a number of alternative books with non-straight, white, male protagonists. That list of alternative books can be filtered by ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. There is also a feature to browse by genre and to filter the books in each genre.
How to find Articles using Databases
The How to Find Articles Guide will help you navigate library research databases including the Start Your Research system (the white search box on the library home page).
Using Start Your Research to Find Articles & Books
What's Link Source?
LinkSource checks our other database to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases.
Sometimes you'll see this image:
Where to Search
Research Databases
The library subscribes to over 400 databases and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. This is different than searching the world wide web since these are subscribed to by the library. You have access to them on campus and off campus with your NetID and password. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Ues the alphabet at the top of the Research Databases page to choose a database by its name.
You can find all different types of periodical articles in our research databases - scholarly peer reviewed or "refereed" journal, newspaper, magazine, etc. There is usually a way to limit to Peer Reviewed or "refereed" articles only.
For specific types of articles or resources such as Newspapers, Film Reviews, or Timelines/Chronologies use the By Type drop down menu on the Research Databases page.
You can use a reference database such as Credo for dictionary and encyclopedia entries. It also has a mind map tool and images.
Start Your Research searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials.
Try a database particular to your subject for more advanced research in your subject area by using the databases listed under By Subject.
Databases by Subject
Communication And Journalism Databases
Look at the list of Communication And Journalism Databases for information about topics such as family communication.
- Communication Source
-
Social Sciences Citation Index (Part of Web of Science) - highest times cited article search
Or you can try these Multi-Subject if your topic covers different subjects or is cross disciplinary. These are similar to Start Your Research but don't search the library catalog.
- Academic Search
- Google Scholar - use this link to access google scholar so it will prompt you for a TXST login and give you access to articles and other resources that the library has subscription access to
- JSTOR - Most articles are Scholarly.
- Project Muse
Here is the full list of Multi-Cultural and Gender databases - please see the box on the top left of this guide for specific gender related databases that are on the full list.
Dissertations & Theses can also help you find in depth context and perspective on an issue.
-
Digital Collections @TxState - search for dissertations and theses from Texas State as well as faculty research. If you don't find it here you may want to check the library catalog. Not all Texas State Dissertations and These are online.
- Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and parts of the world. Shows which items we own. Direct link to request items we don't own via interlibrary loan.
