Databases
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews, critical analysis, film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspect. 1914 to present.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database indexing articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics. Over 1000 of the indexed journals have full text. 1916-present.
Selected Journals:
Film Quarterly: One of the premier English-language scholarly film studies journals. Peer-reviewed.
Film Comment: A highly-respected film magazine published by the Film Society of Lincoln Center.
American Cinematographer: The official magazine of the American Society of Cinematographers.
Film Criticism: An academic film studies journal published by Allegheny College.
KinoKultura: An online film studies journal that focuses on contemporary Russian cinema.
Sight & Sound: A highly-respected film magazine published by the British Film Institute.
Related Databases
- Humanities Source and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
American and world popular culture, past and present. Decade overviews from 1920s to 2000s.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. 1983-present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. 1890 to 1982