Finding Films
The library has many Streaming Video databases including educational videos, films, and performance videos. Listed below are selected streaming databases useful for film studies and criticism.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multidisciplinary academic streaming video collection. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.
- Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism This link opens in a new window
Screenplays in industry-standard studio format, critical and contextual books on cinema, and techniques for film-making and screenwriting. Not all titles are availble or use on this site. Please check the catalog for other access options or request via InterLibrary Loan.
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowEducational, close-captioned videos on all subject areas, Includes archival film and newsreels, documentaries and films from producers such as A&E, BBC Learning, and PBS. An external tool is available in Canvas to embed Films on Demand videos.
- Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Classical works to contemporary plays combined with critical analysis, contextual information, biographies, genres and Nick Hern books.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos from BBC, PBS, Documentary Educational Resources, Criterion Collection and others. The platform allows you to make playlists and clips, and share links.
- Film Platform This link opens in a new windowExclusive collection of Oscar nominated documentaries and film festival winners from around the world.
- Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
Features accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen. 1903-2006
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowA selection of feature films from well-known studios such as MGM, Miramax, United Artists, Columbia Pictures, and Dreamworks. These films are NOT LICENSED for public events. They may be streamed only in a face-to-face classroom setting or for individual use.
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Graphically rich primary sources depicting popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
