Getting Started with Reference Materials
The following databases provide background information on a variety of topics. If you are new to a topic or need a broad overview to help you get started on a research project, these resources are a great place to start.
Need help? Ask us!
Reference Databases
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
-
Merck Manual: professional version This link opens in a new windowThe authoritative source for concise and correct diagnosis and therapy information. Includes symptoms overviews, clinical calculators, conversion tables, drug tables, and normal laboratory values. Current.
-
SAGE Reference & Academic Books This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and ebooks published by Sage and CQ Press. 1983 to present.
-
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Medical resources including Stedman's Medical Dictionary, ICD-10 with conversion tools, evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, plus access to Anatomy.tv and BoardVitals.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowStatistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1878 to present.
Reference Ebooks
-
-
-
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies
by
Organization studies, although a relatively recent notion, has roots that go back at least to the early days of the twentieth century. The study of how people construct organizations, how they use the structures, processes, and practices that they have designed, and how these, in turn, use people, organize social relations, construct institutions, organize them, and, consecutively, enable them to organize us--has matured along multiple fronts. Over the last two decades more diverse approaches, drawing on more qualitative and ethnographic styles of research, have predominated. This Encyclopedia represents both the older and the newer styles of work, with their respective concerns. The International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies is the definitive description of the field, spanning individual, organizational, societal, and cultural perspective in a cross-disciplinary manner. The old model of a North American core exporting its domain assumptions to the rest of the world, while by no means absent, is less marked than it used to be. Thus, editors Stewart R. Clegg and James R. Bailey have sought to capture much of the cutting-edge thinking that characterizes the best scholarship--in the United States and elsewhere. The Encyclopedia is thoroughly cross-referenced, and entries are based around a series of broad themes. Key Features Offers a comprehensive overview of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize this diverse field of organization studies Illustrates the fluidity, dynamism, and innovation that now occur in organization studies--internationally Brings together a team of international contributors from the fields of management, psychology, sociology, communications, education, political science, public administration, anthropology, law, and other related areas Examines how organizations are devices for structuring life and lives are structured by organizations Key Themes Approaches to Organization Theory Approaches to Management Theory Culture and Symbolism Human Resource Management International Approaches Issues in Organization Practices Issues in Organizational Structure Innovation and Creativity Knowledge and Learning Leadership Theory Organizational Behavior Organizational Cognition, Change, and Communication Organizational Economics Organizational Relations Organizational Power, Politics, and Conflict Philosophy of Organizations Research Practice and Methodology Social Issues Teams Technologies The International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies is the premier reference tool for students, educators, scholars, and practitioners to gather knowledge about a range of important topics from the unique perspective of organization studies with extensive international representation.
ISBN: 9781412915151Publication Date: 2007-08-28 -
-
Reference Print Books
-
The ... Almanac of hospital financial and operating indicatorsCall Number: RA981.A2 A58 (2019)
-
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management, 12 Volume Set
by
The second edition of this flagship business and management reference work is divided into 12 individual subject volumes and an index and includes a brand new volume on Entrepreneurship: Comprises over 6500 specially commissioned and carefully edited entries Written and edited by international teams of over 1500 of the world's best scholars and teachers Features extended bibliographies of relevant, wider, international literature and the foremost global scholarship in each field Flexible, multi-level use, maintained and further extended by sophisticated cross-referencing both among individual encyclopedia entries and between volumes and external sources Available online, for the first time, via the EBSCO database and linked to wider literature and to an associated Blackwell Library Online, consisting of a selection of Blackwell Handbooks and Journals in the field. Register with us to receive updates on this landmark project at www.managementencyclopedia.com where you will find further details, a special pre-publication offer and, coming soon, contributor browsing features.
Call Number: HD30.15 .B455 2005ISBN: 9780631233176Publication Date: 2005-02-14 -
Hospital Statistics (American Hospital Association)Call Number: RA981.A2 A6234Publication Date: Latest edition: 2022
-
The Merck Manual of Medical Information
by
Packed full of essential information in an easy-to-read style The Merck Manual Of Medical Information is the home reference guide for all health conscious readers. For the past twenty years the publishers of The Merck Manual, one of the most widely used sources of medical information in the world, realised that more and more copies of the guide were being purchased by people who were no healthcare professionals, despite the fact that it had never been advertised and was not written for public use. Recognising the public's increasing need for access to the same medical information doctors have, Merck responded with the Home Edition. This contained virtually all the information in the physician's version, but in easy-to-understand everyday language, with a reader-friendly format. Since its publication three years ago the Home Edition has gone on to sell more than 2 million copies worldwide. Now Merck have updated the edition to cater for the changing medical environment. The new edition contains 35 new chapters on subjects ranging from Gene Therapy and the warning signs of cancer to biological warfare and terrorism and with 64 new illustrations and colour plates along with new tables
Call Number: RC81 .M535 2003ISBN: 9780911910353Publication Date: 2003-04-29
