Search for Books & eBooks
- Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
- Start Your Research
Books, eBooks, and multimedia can also be searched using Start Your Research by limiting a search to Library Catalog.
- Google Books
Searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Books are provided either by publishers and authors or by Google's library partners through the Library Project. Additionally, Google has partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives.
- WorldCat
Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
eBook Collections
In addition to searching the library catalog for ebooks, you can search the library's ebook collections. Select collections are below. See all the library's ebook collections here.
-
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society journals, ebooks and proceedings; Chemical & Engineering, News; and Advances in Chemistry. 1879-present
-
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Discover peer-reviewed monographs and collections published under an open access licence. Multiple disciplines and languages are covered.
-
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive physical therapy resource for educators and students at every stage of their careers. Updated regularly.
-
Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information about physical activity, fitness, exercise, coaching, and sport. Includes the Library Core Collection and the Physical and Health Education collection.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) from 1950 to present. Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards from 1988 to present.
-
IET Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Engineering & Technology books offering new perspectives and developments in emerging subject areas like healthcare technologies and cyber security, as well as traditional engineering. 2009 to present.
-
IGI Global This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals and select ebooks focusing on computer science, information science, and information technology. Coverage varies.
-
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
Skill development and certification guides in a wide range of technology including artificial intelligence, enterprise business applications, game development, mobile applications, operating systems, programming languages, and much more. Current editions.
-
SAGE Reference & Academic Books This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and ebooks published by Sage and CQ Press. 1983 to present.
-
Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
English language books published by Springer, covering a variety of subjects: 2005 to present. Some book series and Lecture Notes: 1995 to 2023.
-
Springer eBook Collection - Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Springer computer science books: 2005 to present. Some series (such as Lecture Notes in Computer Science): 1997 to 2023.
-
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowAcademic, science, technology, and medical books from Taylor & Francis and its imprints, CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.
| ILL - Scan Request - TexShare
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996; Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library. -
Scanning RequestThe University Libraries will scan and deliver chapters and articles from its print resources. Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service. We will scan chapters and articles only (max. 50 pages). We cannot scan entire books or journal issues. Limit: 1 request per person per day. Please allow three (3) working days for processing. Library staff will deliver an electronic file via ILLiad or via email.
-
TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.