LibGuides: HS 3331: Health Systems: Research Databases & Peer Reviewed

Databases

Health Databases

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Current
MalaCards This link opens in a new window
The authoritative source for concise and correct diagnosis of human disease and therapy information. Resource is updated monthly.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource. Registration is required to earn CME, CE, or CPD credits. NOTE: To keep your personal login active and retain access on mobile device, you must access UpToDate using your NetID/password from a computer every 90 days and then also “Sign in” to the system using the link in the upper right-hand corner.

Other Databases Worth Considering

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Online directory that indexes and provides access to high-quality, open-access, peer-reviewed journals. Dates vary.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies. 1970 to present.
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Articles on food industry-related issues: agribusiness, packing, processing, safety, service, shipping, culinary innovation and product development. 1938 to present
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Index of general-interest magazines and journals. Includes reference, newspaper, and audio content. Current.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the most cited journal literature of the sciences. Covers all science disciplines. 1899 to present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Large, multidisciplinary index to the most cited journal literature of the social sciences. 1898 to present.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present
Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Practice-focused resources for social workers and mental health professionals. Content includes articles, evidence-based care sheets, clinical assessment tools, continuing education modules, patient education, and drug information.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar

If you search Google Scholar, please consider configuring your Google Scholar account so that you will see the option FindIt@TxState. This options allows you to see if the full text of an article is available through the library.

OR just access Google Scholar from the Databases page:

Is it Peer-Reviewed?

Suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.

Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."

Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, , then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".