AHA Texas Conference on Introductory History Courses

This searchable and ever-expanding online repository includes historical documents, works of art, video recordings of teacher institute faculty lectures, audio recordings from the radio series Texas Originals, and countless other resources from Humanities Texas’s array of public programs.

The Texas General Land Office’s (GLO) map collection consists of over 45,000 maps, sketches, and drawings. The collection spans nearly five centuries, from the era of European exploration to the present day.

The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. Selected materials include audio files (oral history interviews), photographs, and documents.

Broad search resources from the collections of LOC focused on Texas. Original formats include newspapers, books/printed materials, drawings, photographs, film, personal narratives, maps, legislation, and music.
Use limiters on the left side of the screen to narrow results for the 1.9M items related to Texas.

The Texas State Archives is the official archives of Texas state government. The collections of the Archives comprise the essential documentary evidence of the history of Texas, spanning three centuries, six national governments, and at least a dozen different languages. Major and unique collections at the Texas Archives include the records of the executive and legislative branches of Texas government dating back to 1836; the records of the judicial branch dating back to 1840; nearly 2500 collections of private manuscripts; a Texana book collection of 35,000 volumes; a prints and photographs collection of 700,000 Texas images; and a Texas map collection with approximately 9,000 historic maps. Digital exhibitions are curated to tell stories about Texas history using primary sources held by the State Archives. Content is added as new exhibitions are created.

The Flickr site offers highlights from the collections in the Texas State Archives, grouped by topic into albums.

The Texas Digital Archive (TDA) manages, preserves, and facilitates access to the electronic records collections of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, including those transferred by state agencies or digitized by the State Archives. All records visible in this portal are unrestricted and available for public use.

The Texas Archive of the Moving Image (TAMI) is a non-profit organization working to discover, preserve, provide access to, and educate the community about Texas’ film heritage. Our ever-growing archive includes home movies, amateur films, advertisements, local television, and industrial and corporate productions, as well as Hollywood and internationally produced moving images of Texas.

Scroll down the page to find "On-Demand Tools"
Use these online curriculum resources anytime in your classroom.