Databases
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
-
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
-
Education Source This link opens in a new windowScholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
-
ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Education-related journals & documents, including research reports, evaluation studies, curricular materials, and other teacher resources collected by U.S. Dept. of Education. Updated monthly. 1966 to present.
-
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowResearch, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies. 1970 to present.
-
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
-
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes social work and related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, welfare, aging, substance abuse, and community organization. 1977-present.
-
Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
Recently published textbooks paired with clinical demonstration videos and lectures, to illustrate realities students will face as practitioners, and structured around twelve important topics in the curriculum. 2000-present.
-
Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This resource will be transition to Nursing and Allied Health Reference Source on roughly October 25, 2025. Practice-focused resources for social workers and mental health professionals. Content includes articles, evidence-based care sheets, clinical assessment tools, continuing education modules, patient education, and drug information.
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes research focused on social work topics like social welfare, policy, community development, crisis intervention, homelessness, abuse, and neglect. 1980-present.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952 to present. Simultaneous user limit is 8.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information.
Consider the features in Settings to make it work better with your research:
►Library Links - FindIt@TxState
►Bibliography Manager - set this EndNote (which is referring to the desktop version).
Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals, but this filter is not available in Google Scholar. Consult Ulrich's to find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed by searching the title of the journal.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).
Citation Management
Consider using a citation management software to help keep track of your citations for your bibliography and offers a Web and Desktop version. EndNote is a citation management tool that enables you to:
► Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
► Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
► Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
See Also: EndNote Tutorials | Desktop Styles Download
Zotero is a free, open-access tool developed by an independent, nonprofit organization that has no financial interest in your private information. The free version provides 300 MB of storage space and additional storage is available for a fee. Zotero lets you:
► Attach images, notes, and PDFs to your citations
► Organize and tag your citations into collections and folders
► Create bibliographies automatically as well as in-text citations
► Share references and research information with a group
See Also: Quick-Start Guide | Get Help with Zotero | Zotero FAQs | User Forums | ZoteroBib
Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators / Jason Puckett.