Simply browsing scores on the Music Library's shelves can lead to unexpectedly rich repertoire discoveries! Here are some areas of particular interest for choral repertoire and instruction:
Secular Vocal Music
M 1530—1546 Choruses with Orchestra/Ensembles
M 1547—1600 Choruses with Solo Instrument, or a Capella
Sacred Vocal Music
M 2000—2007 Oratorios
M 2010—2017 Services (Masses & Requiems)
M 2020—2036 Choruses: Cantatas with Orchestra
M 2060—2100 Choruses with Solo Instrument Accompaniment
M 2115—2146 Hymnals and Liturgy
Music Instruction
MT 825—915 Voice Studies
Anderson, Linda Allen. The Foundation of Artistry: An Annotated Bibliography of Distinctive Choral Literature for High School Mixed Choirs (American Choral Directors Assoc., 2002)
ML 128 .C48 A53 2002 (Music Library: Reference)
Bloesch, Richard. Twentieth Century Choral Music: An Annotated Bibliography of Music Appropriate for College and University Choirs (American Choral Directors Assoc., 1997)
ML 128 .C48 B56 1997 (Music Library: Reference)
Burnsworth, Charles C. Choral Music for Women's Voices; An Annotated Bibliography of Recommended Works (Scarecrow, 1968)
ML 128 .C48 B87 1968 (Music Library: Reference)
DeVenney, David P. American Choral Music Since 1920: An Annotated Guide (Fallen Leaf, 1993)
ML 128 .C48 D45 1993 (Alkek Library)
Ellingboe, Bradley. Choral Literature for Sundays and Seasons (Augsburg Fortress, 2004)
ML 128 .C48 C47 2004 (Alkek Library)
Green, Jonathan. A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, 5 volumes (Scarecrow, 1994-2008):
Vol. 1: A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works
(order request has been placed)
Vol. 2: A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Twentieth Century, Part II: The Music of Rachmaninov Through Penderecki
ML 128 .C48 G7 1994 pt.2 (Alkek Library)
Vol. 3: A Conductor's Guide to the Choral-Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach
ML 128 .C48 G74 2000 (Alkek Library)
Vol. 4: A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Classical Period, Volume I: Haydn and Mozart
ML 128 .C48 G72 2002 v.1 (Music Library: Reference)
Vol. 5: A Conductor's Guide to Nineteenth-Century Choral-Orchestral Works
ML 128 .C48 G73 2008 (Alkek Library)
Green, Jonathan. Conductor's Guide to Selected Baroque Choral-Orchestral Works (Rowman & Littlefield, 2013)
online
Hawkins, Margaret B. An Annotated Inventory of Distinctive Choral Literature for Performance at the High School Level (AMDA, 1976)
ML 128 .C48 H38 1976 (Music Library: Reference)
Laster, James. Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order (Scarecrow, 1996)
ML 128 .C54 L4 1996 (Music Library: Reference)
Supplemental volume: ML 128 .C54 L4 1996 suppl. (Music Library: Reference)
May, James. Avant-Garde Choral Music: An Annotated Selected Bibliography (Scarecrow, 1977)
ML 128 .V7 M43 (Music Library: Reference)
Music Educators National Conference. Choral Music for Children: An Annotated List (1990)
ML 128 .C48 C48 1990 (Music Library: Reference)
Rosewall, Michael. Directory of Choral-Orchestral Music (Routledge, 2007)
ML 128 .C48 R67 2007 (Music Library: Reference)
Sharp, Timothy. Sacred Choral Music Repertoire: Insights for Conductors (GIA, 2020)
ML 128 .C48 S54 2020 (Music Library: Reference)
Shrock, Dennis. Choral Repertoire, 2nd ed. (Oxford U, 2023)
online
Shrock, Dennis. Choral Repertoire, 1st ed. (Oxford U, 2009)
ML 128 .C48 S57 2009 (Alkek Library)
also online
Shrock, Dennis. A Conductor's Guide to Choral/Orchestral Repertoire: An Annotated Listing of 1,200 Works by 250 Composers (GIA, 2017)
ML 128 .C48 S57 2017 (Music Library: Reference)
Stultz, Marie. Choral Excellence for Treble Voices: Your Guide to the World's Finest Choral Literature (Choral Excellence, 2005)
MT 875 .S78 2005 (Music Library)
Tiemstra, Suzanne Spicer. The Choral Music of Latin America: A Guide to Compositions and Research (Greenwood, 1992)
ML 128 .C48 T5 1992 (Music Library: Reference)
Tortolano, William. Original Music for Men's Voices: A Selected Bibliography (Scarecrow, 1981)
ML 128 .C48 T67 1981 (Music Library: Reference)
University Interscholastic League (UIL, State of Texas). Prescribed Music List (database, updated annually)
online
White, Evelyn Davidson. Choral Music by Afro-American Composers: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography (Scarecrow, 1981)
ML 128 .C48 W5 (Music Library: Reference)
White, J. Perry. Twentieth-Century Choral Music: An Annotated Bibliography of Music Suitable for Use by High School Choirs (Scarecrow, 1990)
ML 128 .C48 W53 1990 (Music Library: Reference)