Choral Research and Pedagogy Resources
Please keep in mind: this list is selective. If you go to our online catalog, select the "Subject" option, and type choral music instruction and study, you may find additional results.
Abrahams, Frank. Teaching Music Through Performance in Middle School Choir (GIA, 2011)
MT 875 .T363 2011 (Music Library: Education Collection)
Abrahams, Frank. The Oxford Handbook of Choral Pedagogy (Oxford U, 2017)
MT 875 .O94 2017 (Music Library: Education Collection)
Adler, Samuel. American Sacred Choral Music: Overview and Handbook (Paraclete, 2001)
ML 2911 .A45 2001 (Music Library)
Albrecht, Sally K. The Choral Warm-Up Collection: A Sourcebook of 167 Choral Warm-Ups Contributed by 51 Choral Directors (Alfred, 2003)
MT 875 .A43 2003 (Music Library)
Alwes, Chester L. A History of Western Choral Music, volume 1: From Medieval Foundations to the Romantic Age (Oxford U, 2016)
ML 1500 .A46 2015 v.1 (Music Library)
also online
Alwes, Chester L. A History of Western Choral Music, volume 2: Romanticism through the Avant-Garde (Oxford University, 2016)
ML 1500 .A46 2015 v.2 (Music Library)
also online
Bar-Kar, Varda. Big Voice, documentary film (LiveTribe, 2015)
Summary: The Power of Music Education to Transform Lives - BIG VOICE chronicles a challenging year in the life of a determined public high school choir director as he pushes his students to achieve a high level of artistry and become 'one big voice' despite the many obstacles they face.
online
Barham, Terry J. Strategies for Teaching Junior High & Middle School Male Singers: Master Teachers Speak (Santa Barbara Music, 2001)
MT 935 .B37 2001 (Alkek Library)
Barrette, Blaise. These Forgotten Voices, documentary film (National Film Board of Canada, 2008)
summary: Here's a concert with a difference: The fifteen singers all have mental health problems. Yet they've recorded a CD and have performed on stage in front of 500 people. Filmmaker Blaise Barrette spent a year with them, filming their confidence-building adventure.
online
Bartolome, Sarah J. World Music Pedagogy. Volume V, Choral Music Education (EBSCO, 2019)
online
Beck, Andy. Sing at First Sight: Foundations in Choral Sight-Singing, level 2 (Alfred, 2007)
MT 870 .B43 S52 2007 (Music Library)
Blackstone, Jerry. Working with Male Voices: Developing Vocal Techniques in the Choral Rehearsal (Santa Barbara Music Pub, 1998)
DVD video: MVD 623 (Music Library)
Bourne, Patricia. Inside the Elementary School Chorus: Instructional Techniques for the Non-Select Children's Chorus (Heritage Music, 2009)
MT 930 .B67 I5 2009 (Music Library: Education Collection)
Brinckmeyer, Lynn M. Wander the USA with Warm-Ups: 40 Fun Warm-Ups Using Songs from Across the United States (Shawnee, 2020)
MT 890 .B756 2020 (Music Library)
Brinson, Barbara A. Choral Music Methods and Materials: Developing Successful Choral Programs (Grades 5 to 12), 2nd ed. (Schirmer/Cengage, 2014)
MT 930 .B82 2014 (Alkek Library)
Buchanan, Heather. Teaching Music Through Performance in Choir, 5 volumes (GIA, 2005-2019)
MT 875 .T36 2005 (v.1-5) (Music Library: Education Collection)
Chafe, Eric Thomas. Analyzing Bach Cantatas (Oxford U, 2000)
ML 410 .B13 C38 2000 (Alkek Library)
Collins, Don L. Teaching Choral Music (Prentice Hall, 1999)
MT 930 .C58 1999 (Alkek Library)
Crocker, Emily. Essential Musicianship: A Comprehensive Choral Method: Voice, Theory, Sight-Reading, Performance, books 1-3 (Hal Leonard, 1995)
MT 915 .C85 1995 (Music Library: Education Collection)
Demorest, Steven M. Building Choral Excellence: Teaching Sight-Singing in the Choral Rehearsal (Oxford U, 2001)
online
De Quadros, André. Empowering Song: Music Education from the Margins (Routledge, 2023)
online
Dürr, Alfred. The Cantatas of J.S. Bach: With Their Librettos in German-English Parallel Text (Oxford U, 2005)
MT 115 .B2 D9213 2005 (Alkek Library)
also online
Elliott, Martha. Singing in Style: A Guide to Vocal Performance Practices (Yale U, 2006)
MT 892 .E45 2006 (Alkek Library)
also online
Emmons, Shirlee. Prescriptions for Choral Excellence: Tone, Text, Dynamic Leadership (Oxford U, 2006)
MT 875 .E46 2006 (Alkek Library)
also online
Floyd, James Michael. Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide, 3rd ed. (Routledge, 2019)
online
Also: 2nd edition: ML 128 .C48 S53 2011 (Music Library: Reference)
Floyd, James Michael. Church and Worship Music in the United States: A Research and Information Guide, 2nd ed. (Routledge, 2017)
ML 128 .C54 S43 2017 (Music Library: Reference)
Freer, Patrick K. Success for Adolescent Singers: Unlocking the Potential in Middle School Choirs (Choral Excellence, 2005)
DVD video: MVD 390 (Music Library)
Gumm, Alan. The Choral Director's Cookbook: Insights and Inspired Recipes (Meredith Music, 2006)
MT 85 .C447 2006 (Alkek Library)
Hammond, Susan Lewis. The Madrigal: A Research and Information Guide (Routledge, 2011)
ML 128 .M2 L49 2011 (Music Library: Reference)
also online
Holt, Michele. The School Choral Program: Philosophy, Planning, Organizing, and Teaching (GIA, 2008)
MT 935 .S36 2008 (Music Library: Education Collection)
Horstmann, Sabine. Choral Vocal Technique (GIA, 2013)
Book + 2 audio CDs. MT 875 .H67 C462 2013 (Music Library)
Houlahan, Mícheál. Choral Artistry: A Kodály Perspective for Middle School to College-Level Choirs (Oxford U, 2023)
online
Houlahan, Mícheál. Choral Sight-Reading. Volume 2: A Kodály Perspective for Middle School to College-Level Choirs (Oxford U, 2023)
online
Jordan, James Mark. The Choral Rehearsal. Volume 1: Techniques and Procedures (GIA, 2007)
MT 875 .J668 2007 (Music Library)
Jordan, James Mark. The Choral Rehearsal. Volume 2: Inward Bound: Philosophy and Score Preparation (GIA, 2008)
MT 875 .J6682 2007 (Music Library)
Jordan, James Mark. The Choral Warm-Up: Method, Procedures, Planning, and Core Vocal Exercies (GIA, 2005)
MT 875 .J6669 2005 (Music Library)
accompanying music CD: MCD 7725 (Music Library)
Jordan, James Mark. Inside the Choral Rehearsal: Rehearsal Teaching and Learning Based Upon the Music Learning Theory of Edwin E. Gordon (GIA, 2017)
MT 875 .J67 2017 (Alkek Library)
Jorgensen, Nancy. From the Trenches: Real Insights from Real Choral Educators (Heritage Music, 2003)
MT 915 .J67 2003 (Alkek Library)
Kittley, Cecilia. The Volunteer Choir: Pedagogical Aspects of Sight-Reading in the Church Choir Setting (thesis, TXST, 2009)
online
Lamble, Walter. A Handbook for Beginning Choral Educators (Indiana U, 2004)
online
Mann, Alfred. Bach and Handel: Choral Performance Practice (Hinshaw Music, 1992)
(item on order)
Moses, Don V. Face to Face with Orchestra and Chorus: A Handbook for Choral Conductors, 2nd ed. (Indiana U, 2004)
online
Neuen, Donald. Choral Concepts (GIA, 2025)
(on order)
Neuen, Donald. Empower the Choir!: Concepts for Singers (Choral Excellence, 2003)
MT 875 .N48 E4 2003 (Music Library)
Noble, Weston. Dialogues, Vol. 2, The Inner Journey of the Musician: Weston Noble, Charles Bruffy, James Jordan: Conversations Between Musicians (GIA, 2008)
Audio CD: MCD 5831 (Music Library)
Pagel, Randy. The Choral Director's Guide to Sanity--and Success!: How to Develop a Flourishing Middle School / Junior High School Choral Program (Heritage Music, 2004)
MT 935 .P24 2004 (Alkek Library)
Perona-Wright, Leah. Voice for Life: Choir Trainer's Book (Royal School of Church Music, 2004)
MT 875 .V65 2004 (Music Library: Education Collection)
Phillips, Kenneth H. Directing the Choral Music Program, 2nd ed. (Oxford U, 2016)
MT 935 .P529 2016 (Music Library: Education Collection)
additional copy at Alkek Library
Pinzino, Mary Ellen. Giving Voice to Children's Artistry: A Guide for Music Teachers and Choral Conductors (Oxford U, 2021)
online
Poe, Frances. Teaching and Performing Renaissance Choral Music: A Guide for Conductors and Performers (Scarecrow, 1994)
MT 875 .P55 1994 (Music Library: Reference)
Robinson, Russell. The Complete Choral Warm-Up Book: A Sourcebook for Choral Directors (Alfred, 1995)
MT 875 .R67 1995 (Alkek Library)
Robinson, Russell L. I Know Sousa, Not Sopranos!: A Survival Guide for the Band Director Teaching Choirs (Heritage Music, 2008)
MT 875 .R67 I2 2008 (Music Library: Education Collection)
Rosenbaum, Harold. A Practical Guide to Choral Conducting (Routledge, 2018)
online
Schott, Sally. How to Make a Good Choir Sound Great! (GIA, 2014)
DVD video: MVD 648 (Music Library)
Seelig, Timothy. The Perfect Blend: Over 140 Seriously Fun Vocal Warm-Ups and Much More!, 2nd ed. (Shawnee, 2020)
MT 875 .S44 2020 (Music Library)
Companion DVD video: MVD 136 (Music Library)
Sharon, Deke. The Heart of Vocal Harmony: Emotional Expression in Group Singing (Hal Leonard, 2016)
online
Shrock, Dennis. Choral Monuments: Studies of Eleven Choral Masterworks (Oxford U, 2017)
MT 110 .S57 2017 (Music Library: Reference)
also online
Small, Ann Roberts. Strategies for Teaching Elementary and Middle-Level Chorus (MENC, 1997)
MT 930 .S6 1997 (Alkek Library)
Smith, Brenda. Choral Pedagogy, 3rd ed. (Plural, 2013)
MT 875 .S63 2013 (Music Library: Education Collection)
Snow, Sandra. Conducting/Teaching: Real-World Strategies for Success (GIA, 2009)
DVD video: MVD 388 (Music Library)
Spevacek, Linda. The Choral Director as Voice Teacher (Heritage Music, 2006)
DVD video: MVD 400 (Music Library)
accompanying score: MVD 400 (Music Library Oversize CDs)
Stultz, Marie. Choral Excellence for Treble Voices: Your Guide to the World's Finest Choral Literature (Choral Excellence, 2005)
MT 875 .S78 2005 (Music Library)
Tarling, Nicholas. Choral Masterpieces: Major and Minor (Rowman & Littlefield, 2014)
ML 1500 .T37 2014 (Music Library)
Telfer, Nancy. Singing High Pitches with Ease: Strategies & Solutions for Conductors, Conductors-In-Training & Voice Teachers (Kjos Music, 2003)
MT 875 .T378 2003 (Alkek Library)
Ulrich, Homer. A Survey of Choral Music (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1973)
ML 1500 .U44 (Alkek Library)
Unger, Melvin P. Historical Dictionary of Choral Music (Scarecrow, 2010)
ML 102 .V6 U54 2010 (Music Library: Reference)
also online
Willetts, Sandra. Beyond the Downbeat: Choral Rehearsal Skills and Techniques (Abingdon, 2000)
MT 85 .W586 2000 (Alkek Library)
Visit Your Music Library!
Texas State has a branch library devoted to MUSIC! The Schneider Music Library, located in the Music Building, opens its door for all students to explore, ask questions, and check out items—regardless of your major. We encourage you to visit us in person or virtually, anytime!
