Databases
Find Health Information Management articles
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
-
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
Find articles on Health Information and Finance topics
-
ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window
Articles about economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation. 1971-present
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers investment; industry, company, & market research reports; case studies; SWOT analyses. 1886 to present.
Find articles on Information Systems, Technology, Data Security
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, conference proceedings, and ebooks from the ACM and affiliated organizations. 1954-present.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) from 1950 to present. Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards from 1988 to present.
-
IET Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Engineering & Technology books offering new perspectives and developments in emerging subject areas like healthcare technologies and cyber security, as well as traditional engineering. 2009 to present.
-
ProQuest Health Research Premium This link opens in a new window
Our largest health and medical database from ProQuest containing scholarly journals, evidence-based resources, and dissertations. 1946-present.
-
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowOur largest science and technology database from ProQuest which contains all of the content of more subject specific databases including AGRICOLA; Materials Science Collection; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts; Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and much more.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
Find data on healthcare and hospitals in these datasets
-
Texas Health DataThis site contains public data and statistics on various health topics.
-
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Interactive database of statistics that enables users to create tables, maps, and figures from a very wide range of data sources. International in scope. Data are organized by subject, source, and geography.
-
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Extensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM Data Packages. Coverage: 2000-present. 10 simultaneous users.
GOOGLE SCHOLAR
Google Scholar
If you search Google Scholar, please consider configuring your Google Scholar account so that you will see the option FindIt@TxState. This options allows you to see if the full text of an article is available through the library.
OR just access Google Scholar from the Databases page:
Is it Peer-Reviewed?
Here are 2 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, 
, then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
Article not available? We'll check with other libraries!
First, make sure you try Full Text Finder. Look for this icon on database search results pages: 
Full Text Finder will search the library's databases to see if full text is available. If the full-text article is found in a different database, you will be provided with a link to it.
If it is not available full text, request it through ILLIAD. This prompts us to request the article from other libraries. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.
The average turnaround time to receive an article if it is available from another library is about 23 hours. However, don't delay with starting your research!
Find out more about this service, which is called Interlibrary Loan.
LibKey Nomad
What is LibKey Nomad?
- A browser extension to quickly link to PDF full-text journal articles provided through the University Libraries.
- Works with databases such as PubMed, UpToDate, Google Scholar, Scopus, and more.
- Can be used to link to full text resources from many, many journal/publisher websites.
When using a resource and full text is available you may see an image similar to the one at the top of this section.
How Do I Get the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension On My Computer?
This plug in can be added to a number of popular browsers from here: thirdiron.com/downloadnomad.
As you add the plug in make sure to choose Texas State University as the associated institution.