Search for Books & eBooks
- Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
- Start Your Research
Books, eBooks, and multimedia can also be searched using Start Your Research by limiting a search to Library Catalog.
- Google Books
Searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Books are provided either by publishers and authors or by Google's library partners through the Library Project. Additionally, Google has partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives.
- WorldCat
Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
eBook Collections
In addition to searching the library catalog for ebooks, you can search the library's ebook collections. Select collections are below. See all the library's ebook collections here.
-
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Discover peer-reviewed monographs and collections published under an open access licence. Multiple disciplines and languages are covered.
-
SAGE Reference & Academic Books This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and ebooks published by Sage and CQ Press. 1983 to present.
-
Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
English language books published by Springer, covering a variety of subjects: 2005 to present. Some book series and Lecture Notes: 1995 to 2023.
-
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowAcademic, science, technology, and medical books from Taylor & Francis and its imprints, CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.
Core Collection eBook Titles - U.S. Healthcare & Public Health
-
Delivering health care in America : a systems approach
by
Call Number: RA395.A3 S485 2022 E-bookISBN: 9781284224641Publication Date: 2022 -
Essentials of the U.S. health care system
by
Call Number: RA395.A3 S45 2019 E-bookISBN: 9781284156737Publication Date: 2019 -
Health systems thinking : a primer
by
Call Number: RA971 .J64 2019 E-bookISBN: 9781284167153Publication Date: 2019 -
Population health, epidemiology, and public health : management skills for creating healthy communities
by
ISBN: 9781640552883Publication Date: 2022 -
Population health management : strategies, tools, applications, and outcomes
by
Call Number: RA418 .C37 2022 E-bookISBN: 9780826144270Publication Date: 2022
Core Collection eBook Titles - Management
-
Essentials of healthcare management : cases, concepts, and skills
by
Call Number: RA971 .C43 2019 E-bookISBN: 9781640550315Publication Date: 2019 -
Essentials of Strategic Planning in Healthcare
by
Call Number: RA971 .H296 2021 E-bookISBN: 9781640552029Publication Date: 2021 -
Take Charge of Your Healthcare Management Career
by
Call Number: RA971.35 E-bookISBN: 9781567937329Publication Date: 2014 -
The Well-Managed Healthcare Organization
by
In the shifting world of contemporary healthcare, future leaders need a firm foundation. For eight editions, The Well-Managed Healthcare Organization has been building students' skills, and this ninth edition once again prepares students to apply evidence-based practices that lead to high performance in healthcare organizations of all types and sizes. Authors Kenneth R. White and John R. Griffith integrate the long-standing clinical and logistical elements of excellent care with contemporary movements, such as establishing a transformational culture; continuous improvement; benchmarking, tracking, and measurement; servant leadership; staff empowerment and retention; and building interprofessional teams. This edition has been thoroughly updated with coverage of pressing new issues, such as: the shift to population health; financial success under risk-based payment; the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015, including updated requirements for meaningful use; diversity, inclusion, and implicit bias; data security; professional autonomy for nurses; data-based approaches to marketing; the use of licensed independent practitioners. Featuring a robust set of instructor resources to enrich classroom learning, as well as in-depth examinations of real-life Baldrige Award-winning organizations, this new edition blends well-established concepts with cutting-edge best practices to introduce students to healthcare excellence in the twenty-first century.
Call Number: RA971 .W458 2019 E-bookISBN: 9781640550599Publication Date: 2019
Core Collection eBook Titles - Finance & Policy
-
Essentials of health policy and law
by
Call Number: RA395.A3 T45 2020 E-bookISBN: 9781284151596Publication Date: 2020 -
Gapenski's healthcare finance : an introduction to accounting and financial management
by
Call Number: RA971.3 .R45 2021 E-bookISBN: 9781640551886Publication Date: 2021 -
Introduction to the financial management of healthcare organizations
by
This book offers a fundamental overview of how financial management works in healthcare organizations. Designed for healthcare management students, clinical students, and managers new to healthcare, the book reinforces basic concepts through mini-case studies, practice problems, and self-quizzes. A comprehensive case at the end of the book draws on information presented throughout the chapters to help readers apply their newfound financial skills to real-world healthcare scenarios.
Call Number: RA971.3 E-bookISBN: 9781640552791Publication Date: 2022 -
Legal and ethical essentials of health care administration
by
Call Number: KF3821 .P69 2021 E-bookISBN: 9781284172553Publication Date: 2021
| ILL - Scan Request - TexShare
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996; Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library. -
Scanning RequestThe University Libraries will scan and deliver chapters and articles from its print resources. Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service. We will scan chapters and articles only (max. 50 pages). We cannot scan entire books or journal issues. Limit: 1 request per person per day. Please allow three (3) working days for processing. Library staff will deliver an electronic file via ILLiad or via email.
-
TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.