Databases
All Library Databases | Health Administration Databases | Business Databases
Below are select databases to help you get started with finding peer-reviewed articles and data from data sets. See the links directly above to access all the library databases or library databases by subject. Questions? Please ask for help!
Find Health Administration articles
-
ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window
Articles about economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation. 1971-present
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers investment; industry, company, & market research reports; case studies; SWOT analyses. 1886 to present.
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
-
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
-
LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new windowJournals of interest to nursing, allied health, and health administration students and professionals. Current.
Find more articles on Health Administration topics
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowYearly reviews of the most significant research contributions in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Articles are written by recognized experts in each field. 1932 to present.
-
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
-
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new windowUsing Artificial Intelligence it analyzes scientific research papers and pulls out authors, references, figures, and topics to make connections. Topic pages provide definitions, a high-level view of important research, and trends in the literature over time.
Find data, not articles, on healthcare and hospitals in these data sets
-
AHRQ State Data The National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR) assesses the performance of our healthcare systems and identifies areas of strengths and weaknesses, as well as disparities, for access to healthcare and quality of healthcare. Quality is described in terms of six priority areas: patient safety, person-centered care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, and care affordability. The NHQDR is based on nearly 700 measures from more than 30 sources of quality and disparities data covering a broad array of healthcare services and settings. The AHRQ Data Tools include more than 400 measures.
-
America's Health Rankings The platform, produced by the United Health Foundation, analyzes over 280 unique measures from more than 80 publicly available data sources to assess the nation’s health and well-being on a wide range of demographics including race and ethnicity, gender, age, education, income, disability status, sexual orientation, veteran status and metropolitan status.
-
Data.gov Open data from the U.S. Government includes data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
-
ICPSR Vast archive of social science data for use with statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, Stata and R. 1962 to present.
-
National Center for Health Statistics NCHS collects data from many sources of health information: Birth and death records Medical records Interviews with people and healthcare providers Direct physical examinations Laboratory testing
-
State Health Facts State Health Facts is a project of KFF and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States. In some cases, data are available for counties, territories, and other geographies. State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including KFF reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations. Data presented on State Health Facts are updated or added as new data become available; the update schedule varies from indicator to indicator. The availability of older or “archived” data is limited and varies by indicator.
-
Texas Health Data Public Health data in Texas.
Google Scholar
If you access Google Scholar through the library databases page, the results list will indicate if the full text of an article is available through the library. You can also configure your Google Scholar account so that you will see the option FindIt@TxState.
Identifying Peer-Reviewed Journals
Already found an article in a journal and wondering if the journal is peer reviewed/refereed?
Search for the title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) in Ulrichsweb, a library resource that identifies which journals are peer reviewed/refereed. You won't find actual articles here, only information about journals in which articles are found.
The title will have this icon, 
,that looks like a referee's jersey next to it if the journal is peer reviewed/refereed.
Article not available? We'll check with other libraries!
First, make sure you try Full Text Finder. Look for this icon on database search results pages: 
Full Text Finder will search the library's databases to see if full text is available. If the full-text article is found in a different database, you will be provided with a link to it.
If it is not available full text, request it through ILLIAD. This prompts us to request the article from other libraries. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.
The average turnaround time to receive an article if it is available from another library is about 23 hours. However, don't delay with starting your research!
Find out more about this service, which is called Interlibrary Loan.
LibKey Nomad
What is LibKey Nomad?
- A browser extension to quickly link to PDF full-text journal articles provided through the University Libraries.
- Works with databases such as PubMed, UpToDate, Google Scholar, Scopus, and more.
- Can be used to link to full text resources from many, many journal/publisher websites.
When using a resource and full text is available you may see an image similar to the one at the top of this section.
How Do I Get the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension On My Computer?
This plug in can be added to a number of popular browsers from here: thirdiron.com/downloadnomad.
As you add the plug in make sure to choose Texas State University as the associated institution.