Databases
Key Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
-
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
-
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and life sciences protocols and methods for researchers from these combined collections: Springer Protocols (with 1 year delay), Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Open Protocol Exchange repository. 1980 to present. The library does not subscribe to all content.
Other Databases worth considering
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowYearly reviews of the most significant research contributions in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Articles are written by recognized experts in each field. 1932 to present.
-
ASM Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from 12 American Society for Microbiology journals. 1916-present
-
Encyclopedia of Toxicology, 4th edition This link opens in a new window
A nine volume compendium surveying the full scope of toxicology, including its chemical, biological, and physical perspectives.
-
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowOur largest science and technology database from ProQuest which contains all of the content of more subject specific databases including AGRICOLA; Materials Science Collection; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts; Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and much more.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
-
Science.gov This link opens in a new windowSearch over 60 databases of authoritative science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
-
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the most cited journal literature of the sciences. Covers all science disciplines. 1899 to present.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation database of high-quality peer-reviewed literature in scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings with added functionality to identify research trends, and view metrics at the journal, document and author level.
-
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new windowUsing Artificial Intelligence it analyzes scientific research papers and pulls out authors, references, figures, and topics to make connections. Topic pages provide definitions, a high-level view of important research, and trends in the literature over time.
GOOGLE SCHOLAR
Google Scholar
If you search Google Scholar, please consider configuring your Google Scholar account so that you will see the option FindIt@TxState. This options allows you to see if the full text of an article is available through the library.
OR just access Google Scholar from the Databases page:
Is it Peer-Reviewed?
Here are 2 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, 
, then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
Article not available? We'll check with other libraries!
First, make sure you try Full Text Finder. Look for this icon on database search results pages: 
Full Text Finder will search the library's databases to see if full text is available. If the full-text article is found in a different database, you will be provided with a link to it.
If it is not available full text, request it through ILLIAD. This prompts us to request the article from other libraries. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.
The average turnaround time to receive an article if it is available from another library is about 23 hours. However, don't delay with starting your research!
Find out more about this service, which is called Interlibrary Loan.
LibKey Nomad
What is LibKey Nomad?
- A browser extension to quickly link to PDF full-text journal articles provided through the University Libraries.
- Works with databases such as PubMed, UpToDate, Google Scholar, Scopus, and more.
- Can be used to link to full text resources from many, many journal/publisher websites.
When using a resource and full text is available you may see an image similar to the one at the top of this section.
How Do I Get the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension On My Computer?
This plug in can be added to a number of popular browsers from here: thirdiron.com/downloadnomad.
As you add the plug in make sure to choose Texas State University as the associated institution.