Databases
Key Databases
-
Education Source This link opens in a new windowScholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
-
ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Education-related journals & documents, including research reports, evaluation studies, curricular materials, and other teacher resources collected by U.S. Dept. of Education. Updated monthly. 1966 to present.
Other Databases worth considering
-
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowResearch, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies. 1970 to present.
-
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes research focused on social work topics like social welfare, policy, community development, crisis intervention, homelessness, abuse, and neglect. 1980-present.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952 to present. Simultaneous user limit is 8.
-
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present
-
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.
-
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowStatistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1878 to present.
GOOGLE SCHOLAR
Google Scholar
If you search Google Scholar, please consider configuring your Google Scholar account so that you will see the option FindIt@TxState. This options allows you to see if the full text of an article is available through the library.
OR just access Google Scholar from the Databases page:
Is it Peer-Reviewed?
Here are 2 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, 
, then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
Article not available? We'll check with other libraries!
First, make sure you try Full Text Finder. Look for this icon on database search results pages: 
Full Text Finder will search the library's databases to see if full text is available. If the full-text article is found in a different database, you will be provided with a link to it.
If it is not available full text, request it through ILLIAD. This prompts us to request the article from other libraries. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.
The average turnaround time to receive an article if it is available from another library is about 23 hours. However, don't delay with starting your research!
Find out more about this service, which is called Interlibrary Loan.
LibKey Nomad
What is LibKey Nomad?
- A browser extension to quickly link to PDF full-text journal articles provided through the University Libraries.
- Works with databases such as PubMed, UpToDate, Google Scholar, Scopus, and more.
- Can be used to link to full text resources from many, many journal/publisher websites.
When using a resource and full text is available you may see an image similar to the one at the top of this section.
How Do I Get the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension On My Computer?
This plug in can be added to a number of popular browsers from here: thirdiron.com/downloadnomad.
As you add the plug in make sure to choose Texas State University as the associated institution.