Journal Articles
Multiple Subject Databases:
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
-
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Current.
Environmental Subject Databases:
-
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include ecosystems, global warming, food safety, and introductions to environmental disasters. Current.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowJournals indexed by AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, Environment Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements. 1960 to present.
-
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and History This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources to enable the impacts of human activity on the natural world to be traced, researched, and analyzed through documents, images, data, maps, and photographs. 1790s-2000s.
Water Subject Databases:
-
Water Resources of the United States This link opens in a new windowA wide range of reliable water data, publications, maps, software, public programs, education resources, current and historical conditions, and contacts.
Migration Subject Databases:
-
Border and Migration Studies This link opens in a new window
Primary resources about displaced individuals across Asia, Africa, the Americas, and Europe, and the environmental, financial, political, and cultural impacts. 19th to 21st centuries.
UN Reports
-
Ebb and Flow
by
Migration shapes the lives of those who move and transforms the geographies and economies of their points of departure and destinations alike. The water sector, and the availability of water itself, implicitly and explicitly shape migration flows. Ebb and Flow: Volume 1. Water, Migration, and Development presents new global evidence to advance our understanding of how fluctuations in water availability, as induced by rainfall shocks, influence internal migration, and hence regional development. It finds that cumulative water deficits result in five times as much migration as water excess does. But there are important nuances in why and when these events lead to migration. Where there is extreme poverty and migration is costly, water deficits are more likely to trap people than induce them to migrate. Water shocks can also influence who migrates. Workers leaving regions because of water deficits are often less advantaged than typical migrants and bring with them lower skills, raising important implications for the migrants themselves and receiving regions. Cities are the destination of most internal migrants, but even here, water scarcity can haunt them. Water shortages in urban areas, which lead to so-called day zero events, can significantly slow urban growth and compound the vulnerability of migrants. No single policy can be completely effective at protecting people and their assets from water shocks. Instead, the report puts forth a menu of overlapping and complementary policy options that target both people and places to improve livelihoods and turn water-induced crises into opportunities for growth. A key message is that policies that focus on reducing the impacts of water shocks must be complemented by strategies that broaden opportunities and build the longterm resilience of communities. Doing so will give individuals more agency to determine the best outcome for themselves and to thrive wherever they may choose to locate.
Call Number: HD1691 .E23 2021 E-bookISBN: 9781464817472Publication Date: 2021-10-22
News Archives
-
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new windowArticles from many respected grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. It offers a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. 1995 to present.
-
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
-
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Also includes thousands of images, as well as radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Current.
-
NewsBank - America's and World News This link opens in a new windowThousands of U.S. and international news sources from around the world. It features most major U.S. news sources, including Texas newspapers, and many local and regional titles. Dates vary by title.
-
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
One of the longest running national daily newspapers. Based in New York City. 1851-
-
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Current issues of the major newspapers of the United States. Includes the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Tribune.
Atlases
-
The Atlas of Global Conservation
by
Visually rich, up-to-date, and authoritative, The Atlas of Global Conservation is a premier resource for everyone concerned about the natural world. Drawing from the best data available, it is an unprecedented guide to the state of the planet and our most pressing resource and environmental issues. Top scientists at The Nature Conservancy, the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and water, have joined forces to create this extraordinary reference. It features 79 richly-detailed, fullcolor maps and other graphics paired with an informative, inviting discussion of major trends across the world's terrestrial, marine, and freshwater environments. Interspersed throughout, essays by noted international authorities point the way forward in confronting some of our greatest conservation challenges. * The most comprehensive single volume on global environmental conservation and future sustainability * Includes the latest data on environmental threats, such as climate change, water use, habitat protection, deforestation and overfishing * Full-color maps and graphics are designed to facilitate sideby-side comparisons, empowering readers to draw their own conclusions * Brings together information that has been widely dispersed across myriad publications and databases in a format thatinvites evaluation and application * Supporting data is available on an accompanying website
Call Number: S936 .A75 2010ISBN: 9780520262560Publication Date: 2010-04-22 -
Africa Development Indicators 2012 / 2013
by
Call Number: HB71 .A384 2013 E-bookISBN: 9781299705661Publication Date: 2013 -
The Pacific Islands
by
The Pacific is the last major world region to be discovered by humans. Although small in total land area, its numerous islands and archipelagoes with their startlingly diverse habitats and biotas, extend across a third of the globe. This revised edition of a popular text explores the diverse landforms, climates, and ecosystems of the Pacific island region. Multiple chapters, written by leading specialists, cover the environment, history, culture, population, and economy. The work includes new or completely revised chapters on gender, music, logging, development, education, urbanization, health, ocean resources, and tourism. Throughout two key issues are addressed: the exceptional environmental challenges and the demographic/economic/political challenges facing the region. Although modern technology and media and waves of continental tourists are fast eroding island cultures, the continuing resilience of Pacific island populations is apparent. This is the only contemporary text on the Pacific Islands that covers both environment and sociocultural issues and will thus be indispensable for any serious student of the region. Unlike other reviews, it treats the entirety of Oceania (with the exception of Australia) and is well illustrated with numerous photos and maps, including a regional atlas. Contributors: David Abbott, Dennis A. Ahlburg, Glenn Banks, John Barker, Geoffrey Bertram, David A. Chappell, William C. Clarke, John Connell, Ron Crocombe, Julie Cupples, Derrick Depledge, Colin Filer, Gerard J. Fryer, Patricia Fryer, Brenden S. Holland, E. Alison Kay, David M. Kennedy, Lamont Lindstrom, Rick Lumpkin, Harley I. Manner, Selina Tusitala Marsh, Nancy McDowell, Hamish A. McGowan, Frank McShane, Simon Milne, R. John Morrison, Dieter Mueller-Dombois, Stephen G. Nelson, Patrick D. Nunn, Michael R. Ogden, Andrew Pawley, Jean-Louis Rallu, Vina Ram-Bidesi, Moshe Rapaport, Annette Sachs Robertson, Richard Scaglion, Donovan Storey, Andrew P. Sturman, Lynne D. Talley, James P. Terry, Randolph R. Thaman, Frank R. Thomas, Caroline Vercoe, Terence Wesley-Smith, Paul Wolffram.
Call Number: GF851 .P33 2013 E-bookISBN: 9780824865849Publication Date: 2013-05-31 -
The Routledge Atlas of Central Eurasian Affairs
by
Providing concisely written entries on the most important current issues in Central Asia and Eurasia, this atlas offers relevant background information on the region's place in the contemporary political and economic world. Features include: Profiles of the constituent countries of Central Asia, namely Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan Profiles of Mongolia, western China, Tibet, and the three Caucasus states of Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia Timely and significant original maps and data for each entry A comprehensive glossary, places index and subject index of major concepts, terms and regional issues Bibliography and useful websites section Designed for use in teaching undergraduate and graduate classes and seminars in geography, history, economics, anthropology, international relations, political science and the environment as well as regional courses on the Former Soviet Union, Central Asia, and Eurasia, this atlas is also a comprehensive reference source for libraries and scholars interested in these fields.
Call Number: DS329.4 E-bookISBN: 9781136310485Publication Date: 2012-08-21 -
The State of the Middle East
by
A valuable tool for understanding the Middle East and global politics, this innovative and information-packed volume combines clear, analytical text with full-color maps and graphics to provide a comprehensive and accessible guide to the region today. As Western powers attempt to redraw the map of the region, Dan Smith uses his forensic skills to unravel this arena of confrontation and instability. With customarily acute analysis, he highlights key issues and maps their global implications to explain why the Middle East has become, and will remain, the focal point for international relations. Smith includes historical maps that show the making of the contemporary region as we recognize it today, as well as an original risk assessment that gauges the future of the Middle East and its implications for the world at large. The Atlas covers a wide range of topics, including: * U.S. presence and policies * Arab-Israeli wars * Israel and Palestine * Iran and Iraq * Military spending * The Kurds and ethnic conflict * Libya and the U.S. * Oil and water * Islam in the world Copub: Myriad Editions Limited
Call Number: G2205 .S6 2006ISBN: 9780520248687Publication Date: 2006-10-11
