Journal Articles
Multiple Subject Areas:
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
-
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Current.
Social and Cultural Subject Areas:
-
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.
Medical Subject Areas:
-
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
Economic Subject Area:
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers investment; industry, company, & market research reports; case studies; SWOT analyses. 1886 to present.
UN Reports
-
The Impact of the Covid-19 Pandemic on People and their Lives : Socio-Political and Economic Aspects
by
This book explores the unparalleled adversities and strain that the COVID-19 pandemic caused on the social and economic lives of people. The book allows readers a glimpse into the experiences of death of near and dears, loss of livelihood, psychological trauma, restrictions on movement and social life, shifts in international relations, and effects on big and small industries caused by the pandvnemic. It focusses on the major shifts caused within communities and highlights how politics, power dynamics, and socio-cultural systems have been reset and recovered during recent times. The volume also offers suggestions to offset economic hardships the pandemic has caused especially to the poor and marginalized as well as policy changes to help governments and communities to build more resilient economic and health infrastructure and support systems. With interdisciplinary contributions, this book is an essential read for students and researchers of public health, social sciences, health economics, healthcare management, development studies, public policy, and South Asian studies.
Call Number: HD82 E-bookISBN: 9781000775532Publication Date: 2024
NGO studies
-
World Development Report 2022: Finance for an Equitable Recovery World Development Report 2022: Finance for an Equitable Recovery examines the central role of finance in the economic recovery from the pandemic. It highlights the consequences of the crisis most likely to affect emerging economies, and advocates a set of policies to mitigate the interconnected financial risks stemming from the pandemic and steer economies toward a sustainable and equitable recovery.
News Archives
-
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new windowArticles from many respected grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. It offers a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. 1995 to present.
-
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
-
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Also includes thousands of images, as well as radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Current.
-
NewsBank - America's and World News This link opens in a new windowThousands of U.S. and international news sources from around the world. It features most major U.S. news sources, including Texas newspapers, and many local and regional titles. Dates vary by title.
-
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
One of the longest running national daily newspapers. Based in New York City. 1851-
-
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Current issues of the major newspapers of the United States. Includes the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Tribune.
Atlases
-
Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases
by
The Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases provides a much needed practical and visual overview of the current distribution and determinants of major infectious diseases of humans. The comprehensive full-color maps show at a glance the areas with reported infections and outbreaks, and are accompanied by a concise summary of key information on the infectious agent and its clinical and epidemiological characteristics. Since infectious diseases are dynamic, the maps are presented in the context of a changing world, and how these changes are influencing the geographical distribution on human infections. This unique atlas: Contains more than 145 high quality full-color maps covering all major human infectious diseases Provides key information on the illustrated infectious diseases Has been compiled and reviewed by an editorial board of infectious disease experts from around the world The result is a concise atlas with a consistent format throughout, where material essential for understanding the global spatial distribution of infectious diseases has been thoughtfully assembled by international experts. Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases is an essential tool for infectious disease specialists, medical microbiologists, virologists, travel medicine specialists, and public health professionals. The Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases is accompanied by a FREE enhanced Wiley Desktop Edition - an interactive digital version of the book with downloadable images and text, highlighting and note-taking facilities, book-marking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and glossary terms.
Call Number: RC113.2 .W889 2012 E-bookISBN: 9781444354669Publication Date: 2012-01-03 -
World Bank Atlas 2005
by
The World Bank Atlas (36th edition) vividly illustrates the key development challenges in the world today. It provides easy-to read, colorful world maps, tables, and graphs highlighting key social, economic, and environmental data for 208 countries.Drawing on data from World Development Indicators, the Atlas brings to life cross-country comparisons of social indicators like life expectancy, infant mortality, safe water, population below the poverty line and energy efficiency, as well as basic economic indicators like income growth, income per person, private capital and aid flows.
Call Number: HC59.15 E-bookISBN: 9780821357323Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Other Useful Resources
-
Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook
by
The essential guide to controlling and managing today's communicable diseases The fourth edition of Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook offers public health workers of all kinds an authoritative and up-to-date guide to current protocols surrounding the identification and control of infectious diseases. With its concise, accessible design, the book is a practical tool that can be relied upon to explain topics ranging from the basic principles of communicable disease control to recent changes and innovations in health protection practice. Major syndromes and individual infections are insightfully addressed, while the authors also outline the WHO's international health regulations and the organizational arrangements in place in all EU nations. New to the fourth edition are chapters on Ebola, the Zika virus, and other emerging pandemics. In addition, new writing on healthcare-associated infection, migrant and refugee health, and the importance of preparedness make this an essential and relevant text for all those in the field. This vital resource: Reflects recent developments in the science and administration of health protection practice Covers topics such as major syndromes, control of individual infections, main services and activities, arrangements for all European countries, and much more Includes new chapters on the Zika virus, Schistosomiasis, Coronavirus including MERS + SARS, and Ebola Follows a format designed for ease of use and everyday consultation Created to provide public and environmental health practitioners, physicians, epidemiologists, infection control nurses, microbiologists and trainees with a straightforward - yet informative - resource, Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook is a practical companion for all those working the field today.
Call Number: RC112 E-bookISBN: 9781119328056Publication Date: 2018-12-03
