Industry Analyses
Industry surveys and industry reports break down current trends, profitability, costs, competition and consumer preferences in an industry. Sometimes called market research. Below are a list of databases to start off your Industry research.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers investment; industry, company, & market research reports; case studies; SWOT analyses. 1886 to present.
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowNAICS collection analyzes industries at the 5-digit level offering the latest content on 700 industries.
-
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, financial, and country profiles. Includes company description, history, products, competitors, and key employees; industry segmentation, competitive landscape, leading companies, forecasts, economic performance, potential development, and business environmental analysis. Case Studies provide concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies. Current / past 2 years to present.
-
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowU.S. public company & industry financials & investment data-- industry surveys, stock reports, mutual fund reports, bond issues, dividends, stock earnings estimates, corporation records. 2001-present.
-
Passport This link opens in a new window
Vendor is working to resolve known problem with access via mobile devices (01/15/2025)A global market information database with industry, company, country and consumer reports and statistics. For the most detailed information, start from Industries and choose Food & Nutrition. -
ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window
Articles about economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation. 1971-present
Trade Organizations
Trade or professional organizations can be good sources for otherwise hard to find statistics on sales, volume, value, industry trends or other news. Many times these figures are cited as definitive as possible sources.
There are organizations for toys, chocolate, automobile salesmen, and so on.
They have stats like this:
You can do a google search for their websites or.....
you can search our database Ward's Directory and be sure to select advanced search and search the Encyclopedia of Associations by keywords. More clicks but better results.