Skip to Main Content

Drama & Theatre: Home

This subject guide was created to support basic and advanced research in Drama & Theatre Resources at Alkek Library including playscripts, accents & dialects, and media & streaming video.

Featured Resources: Kanopy & Drama Online

 

​Kanopy is like an academic version of Netflix...with plenty (about 10k in all) of independent movies, documentaries, and 319 Criterion Collection films. And you can watch it on your Roku, iOS, or Android device. 

 

 

Drama Online is a comprehensive database with hundreds of full-text plays combined with critical analysis, contextual information, biographies, and genres. Search for plays by theme, setting, time period or genre. Also includes a Monologue finder and ability to search by number of roles for men and women or unisex. Subscription includes Includes Nick Hern Book collection; and video collections Globe on Screen, Stage on Screen, Maxine Peake as Hamlet, and Patsy Rodenburg acting masterclass. 

Library Services

You can use the Ask Us! service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer Chat, Text, or you can also email a question to us. You can also make an online or in-person research assistance appointment.

Log in to ILLiad with your NetID username and password to make an Interlibrary Loan request to borrow items from another library.
This service is free to CURRENTLY enrolled Texas State students and employees. 

Typical turnaround for a book is 2 weeks, and pick up and return is at the 3rd floor Checkout Desk. 

Turnaround time for articles varies depending on format (hard copy or electronic) but averages 2 to 3 days. Log in to ILLiad to retrieve your electronic article copy.

Faculty & Graduate students can request articles from Alkek's print journal collection sent electronically using ILLiad.

Texshare cards allow you borrowing privileges at many local libraries, including the following participating libraries.

Request a card online through this TexShare Card request form or sign up in person at the Checkout Desk. Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.

You can use the Worldcat database to look up items and see which libraries in Texas own them.

Are you in between semesters? You can also get a Texshare card from your local public library. Typically Texshare cards from public libraries are valid for a year.

Alkek Library delivers electronic copies of articles from our print journal collection right to your desktop. Scanning Request Form for current students, faculty, or staff to use: https://www.library.txst.edu/services/delivery/scan-request.html

Simply use the Interlibrary Loan system to request any print article, by filling out an online loan request using your ILLiad account. The interlibrary loan staff will take your request and either digitize the article on demand if we subscribe to the journal in print OR obtain the article via interlibrary loan (if we do not subscribe to the journal). 
 
You will receive the article in a timely manner via your ILLiad account and can access the digital version on your desktop in your office or home– no more trips to the library to find and copy the article!

Browzine App for Browsing Academic Journals

Browzine is a way for you to browse online journals from Alkek, create virtual bookshelves with your favorite journals, and access online journal articles from Alkek on your phone or tablet using the Browzine app (iOS, Android, & Kindle). You can also access Browzine on the web.