| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
-
Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries.
Texas
-
Surface Water Quality Data and ReportsFrom the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ).
-
Texas Water Science CenterFrom the U.S. Geological Survey. Site provides real-time stream stage and stream flow, water quality, and groundwater levels for more than 650 sites in Texas.
Federal
-
Agricultural Statisticsalso available in print for these holdings.
-
-
Astronomical Almanacalso available in print -- for details see https://txst.locate.ebsco.com/instances/1646c369-6244-5105-971b-f17aad4ebdad
-
Census: American FactfinderSearch this database to get Census demographic data
-
Census: Historical Census Browserfind 1790-1960 data. Site is managed by the University of Virginia.
-
FEMA MapsAccess flood maps from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).
-
National Water Information SystemFrom the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS).
-
NOAA Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service This link opens in a new windowAccess climatological data via this database from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) National Climatological Data Center. Access limited to access on campus in San Marcos.
-
TIGER ProductsTIGER = Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing.
TIGER products are spatial extracts from the Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas. -
Toxics Release InventoryDatabase contains data on disposal or other releases of over 600 toxic chemicals from thousands of U.S. facilities.
-
USGSOfficial website for the U.S. Geological Survey
-
Web Soil SurveyFrom the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Resource Conservation Service Soil Survey Division.
Maps
-
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collectionfrom the University of Texas, extensive collection of digitized maps
-
Sanborn Maps (Texas Cities) This link opens in a new windowDatabase provides historical maps from 1867 to 1970. Access restricted to Texas State University students, faculty, or staff.
-
American Memory Map CollectionAccess historic maps from the Library of Congress.