Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Databases & Articles

A guide for finding Anthropology reference materials, books, periodicals and articles, career resources, and web sites.

Periodical List

You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper using Periodical List

Featured Database!

The featured database is Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center. It contains  Over 4.6 million records with 445,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

It covers Art, Political History, Natural History, Folklife, Culture, Air and Space, Humanities, Photographs, Horticulture. Check it out!

Suggested Anthropology Databases for Finding Journal Articles

Below are databases specific to anthropology. Depending on subject, other databases may also be appropriate for searching. Or see the whole list of Anthropology Databases . Click on each link to see a description of the database. If you want to see articles from a particular journal, use the Periodical List to see a link to the database with that journal and the dates of access.

Anthropology Databases

Related Databases

 

Ulrichs - Scholarly Verification Tool

To find out if a journal is considered scholarly, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal.

If you see a little referee shirt icon then the journal title is considered peer reviewed "aka" scholarly.