It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Publish Your Research: Identifying Potential Journals
What is Open Access and what are Article Processing Charges?
In general, lower journal acceptance acceptance rates are consideredmore prestigious.
Listed below are the few resources that include the acceptance rates of a journal. Acceptance rates are sometimes provided on publisher websites as part of the instructions to authors material. If you cannot find the acceptance rate of a journal by using the tools provided or viewing the journal's website, try contacting the editor directly. Be aware that some journals make their acceptance rates easily available, others consider this proprietary information and do not .
Referred to as "Difficulty of Acceptance." A good resource for finding acceptance rates and other pertinent information about journals in various disciplines.
Does not cover every discipline. Cabell's now includes a Predatory Reports/questionable journals list of predatory publishers and publications.
Acceptance Rates By Discipline Associations or Societies
Websites of professional organizations/societies sometimes will provide data on acceptance rates for journals they publish.
Think. Check. Submit. is a campaign endorsed by many scholarly organizations worldwide to help researchers identify trusted journals for their research. It is a simple checklist researchers can use to assess the credentials of a journal or publisher.
Try searching for the topic of your article in a relevant database to see where related articles in your field have been published.
In addition, you may also consider using the following databases and tools. This list isn't exhaustive but does provide some good starting points.
Here are some directories of journals and some publisher specific tools for locating journals-
Use Ulrichsweb to find data on over 250,000 publications worldwide. It includes reviews, abstracting and indexing information, email addresses, URLs, and even includes titles which have ceased publication.
Offers resources to evaluate academic journals and guidelines for submitting articles for publication. Quality metrics are provided for over 11,000 journals across 18 academic disciplines. Data elements include difficulty of acceptance, JCR impact factor, average time to review, publication, acceptance rate, peer review indicators. The Predatory Reports/questionable journals list is a searchable database of deceptive and predatory academic journals.
Formerly Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities. We suggest using the advanced search, which is collapsed just below the search box. Do not use with IE Explorer or Microsoft Edge.
Good source for journal profiles and publishing requirements in Anthropology
Predatory Journals? What To Look For
Predatory open access publishing is an exploitative open-access publishing business model that involves charging publication fees to authors without providing the editorial and publishing services associated with legitimate journals (open access or not).
Checklist designed to help researchers determine whether or not to publish in a journal. Created by the Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives.
Beall's List- For many years, Jeffery Beall, a librarian at University of Colorado maintained a list of "predatory publishers" on his website. The list has always been a source of much debate among both scholars and the publisher community. That list was taken down in January, 2017.
Think. Check. Attend. is an initiative that aims to guide and assist researchers and scholars to judge the legitimacy and academic credentials of conferences in order to help them decide whether to or not attend the same.