LibGuides: Where to Publish Your Research: Publisher Tools

Tools for Finding a Journal for Publication

Try searching for the topic of your article in a relevant database to see where related articles in your field have been published.

Additional tools and resources are below.

Publisher Selector Tools

Elsevier Journal Finder
Search for an Elsevier journal by name or use the Elsevier Journal Finder by entering your abstract to find journals best suited for your research.
Sage Journal Recommender
Search Sage journals for potential titles that match your manuscript. Search requires a minimum of Title and Keywords.
Springer Journal Selecter
Enter your abstract or article description to find Springer journals best suited for your research.
Includes acceptance rates.
Taylor & Francis Journal Suggester
Search and browse journals published by Taylor & Francis that may be a good fit for your research.
Web of Science Manuscript Matcher
Already have a manuscript? Find relevant, reputable journals for potential publication of your research based on an analysis of tens of millions of citation connections in Web of Science Core Collection using Manuscript Matcher.

Directories

Cabells
Provides research writers with information for submitting articles to major journals. Search filters include difficulty of acceptance, JCR impact factor, average time to review and publication, acceptance rate, open access type, review type, Cabell's Classification Index, and open for submissions. Journal entries include Altmetrics and submission details.
Directory of Nursing Journals
Vetted list of nursing journals produced by the International Academy of Nursing Editors (INANE).
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
To find the MLA Directory of Periodicals, look in the navigation bar above the search box for link to the periodicals directory.
Ulrichsweb
Directory of U.S. and international periodicals. No articles, just information about journals.

Acceptance Rates

Acceptance rates are sometimes provided on publisher websites as part of the instructions to authors' material. If you cannot find the acceptance rate of a journal by using the tools provided or viewing the journal's website, try contacting the editor directly. Be aware that some journals make their acceptance rates easily available, others consider this proprietary information and do not. In general, lower journal acceptance rates are considered more prestigious.