Skip to Main Content

Tests & Measurements: Databases

Locating Tests in Databases

PsycTESTS Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), this serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.

CINAHL | Use terms like: scales or behavior rating scale, research instruments, surveys or survey research, behavioral research, health status indicators, instrument validation, internal consistency, random sample.  Tutorial and sample search.

ERIC | Keyword searches may be limited to "Tests OR Evaluation Instruments" Sample search limited to "autism"  ERIC also has a Publication Type available as a limiter at the bottom of the search page.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) | Many measures created or modified for specific studies appear in journals, but never become commercially available. This  database publicizes their existence and allows researchers and students to benefit from past work and avoid re-creating existing instruments in the areas of medical, nursing, psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, & speech & hearing therapy tests. Documents include unpublished tools for clinicians discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating & other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tests are in the medical and nursing fields and address areas such as pain measurement, quality of life assessment, & drug efficacy evaluation. One particularly useful feature is that reliability and validity can be used as keywords to access instruments with tested psychometric properties. You could, for instance, search for all instruments in your area with demonstrated test-retest reliability, construct validity, or both.  Sample Subject search.

Medline | In addition to a keyword search of "depression", for example, use terms like: program evaluation, measurement, psychological tests, psychometrics, questionnaires, rating scales, data collections, health surveys, nursing assessment, health status indicators, psychiatric status rating scales, severity of illness index.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print | Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Useful for evaluating test products within psychology, education, business, and leadership. No full text of tests is available. MMY/TIP is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language, and provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test.

PILOTS | Literature on post-traumatic stress disorder, acute stress disorder, any psychiatric disorder associated with exposure to a traumatic event. Finding references on a topic connected with assessment instruments

PsycINFO | Keyword searches may be limited to "Tests and Measures" in the pulldown menu. You can also search using "instrument appended" or "questionnaire appended" or even just "appended" as additional keywords when searching, sometimes improving the chances of retrieving actual measurement instruments.

SDSU Test Finder | A database from the San Diego State University. It indexes complete tests found in BOOKS,many of which are available at Alkek. Check Alkek Library Catalog to determine if it lists the source volume. If not available, you may be able to get the material via interlibrary loan.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences | This database can be used to find tests in TEST COMPILATIONS. Test compilations are a great place to find complete copies of tests. Helen Hough, from the University of Texas, has created an electronic index of tests available in test compilations. If you find your test in a test compilation check the Library Catalog to see if the book is available at Alkek. If the compilation is not available use interlibrary loan (ILLiad) to request it. Search like this: ["marital satisfaction" TMdb]


See the APA FAQ on psychological tests for more tips on obtaining both published and unpublished Tests & Measurements.