Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Chemistry Careers Resources
Search the library catalog for the keyword phrase "vocational guidance" to find books about careers, or limit your search to the Career Guides Collection.
Careers, Entrepreneurship, and Diversity by Careers, Entrepreneurship, and Diversity: Challenges and Opportunities in the Global Chemistry Enterprise is the result of three Presidential Symposia held at the 246th National Meeting of the American Chemical Society (ACS) in Indianapolis in September 2013. These symposia focused on: 1) Career Advancement Opportunities, 2) Innovation and Entrepreneurship, and 3) Impact of Diversity and Inclusion. The speakers at the symposia were all accomplished leaders of the global chemistry enterprise, and their talks were very well received. Subsequently, the speakers were invited to contribute chapters to this book. Most of them did, and this book is the result of their hard work. This book is intended to be useful for all scientists and engineers in general, and particularly chemists, biochemists, chemical engineers, biochemical engineers, and others in chemistry-related fields. People interested in exploring various jobs and careers may find Chapters 1-12 especially useful, scientists and engineers interested in starting their own businesses may find useful insights in Chapters 13-18, and readers interested in learning more about diversity and inclusion in the scientific workplace may find helpful information and case histories in Chapters 19-25. Indeed the global chemistry enterprise is changing, and it is important for chemistry professionals and students alike to be aware of the challenges and the opportunities available today in order to manage their careers accordingly. Careers, Entrepreneurship, and Diversity: Challenges and Opportunities in the Global Chemistry Enterprise will be a valuable resource for anyone interested in enriching his or her knowledge of the chemical profession and various career paths and opportunities.
Call Number: QD39.5 .C37 2014
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Careers in Chemistry by Careers in Chemistry contains over 20 profiles of branches or fields of chemistry such as Agricultural Chemistry, Cosmetics Chemistry, Food Chemistry, and Forensic Science. It also contains over 20 corresponding occupational profiles that highlight a particular career within that branch or field (for example, a perfume chemist for Cosmetics Chemistry). All essays are written by authors with expertise in science or a related field.
Call Number: QD39.5 .C243 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-25
Nontraditional Careers for Chemists by A Chemistry background prepares you for much more than just a laboratory career. The broad science education, analytical thinking, research methods, and other skills learned are of value to a wide variety of types of employers, and essential for a plethora of types of positions. Those who are interested in chemistry tend to have some similar personality traits and characteristics. By understanding your own personal values and interests, you can make informed decisions about what career paths to explore, and identify positions that match your needs. By expanding your options for not only what you will do, but also the environment in which you will do it, you can vastly increase the available employment opportunities, and increase the likelihood of finding enjoyable and lucrative employment. Each chapter in this book provides background information on a nontraditional field, including typical tasks, education or training requirements, and personal characteristics that make for a successful career in that field. Each chapter also contains detailed profiles of several chemists working in that field. The reader gets a true sense of what these people do on a daily basis, what in their background prepared them to move into this field, and what skills, personality, and knowledge are required to make a success of a career in this new field. Advice for people interested in moving into the field, and predictions for the future of that career, are also included from each person profiled. Career fields profiled include communication, chemical information, patents, sales and marketing, business development, regulatory affairs, public policy, safety, human resources, computers, and several others. Taken together, the career descriptions and real case histories provide a complete picture of each nontraditional career path, as well as valuable advice about how career transitions can be planned and successfully achieved by any chemist.
Call Number: QD39.5 .B25 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-12
What You Need for the First Job, Besides the PhD in Chemistry by This volume is an attempt to educate, to provide a source of information, knowledge, and wisdom to the person who has spent so much time and energy on his or her schooling. The Council for Chemical Research (CCR) and the American Chemical Society (ACS) have both spent considerable effort over the past decades focusing on how to ensure that graduate education in the chemical sciences remains at the absolute highest caliber, and produces the best possible professionals. In spite of notable efforts from both organizations to prepare graduate students for the professional world, neither has specifically asked what a person needs to be successful once they have both the Ph.D. and the first job in hand. Put succinctly, there is much more to being successful in a career in chemistry than just the hard-earned Ph.D. degree. What You Need for the First Job, Besides the Ph.D. in Chemistry is based on a symposium of the same name held at the 246th National Meeting of the American Chemical Society, which took place in Indianapolis, Indiana in September, 2013. This book is the result of seeds that were planted during numerous informal conversations at the annual meetings of the CCR, as well as during such discussions at national and regional meetings of the ACS, and at the ACS employment clearing houses. The authors felt that the same intense focus a person needs to earn a Ph.D. might actually work against the attention to other details needed in order to be successful once he or she has obtained a position. Leaders want to ensure that new hires are working effectively toward tenure, are quickly becoming productive members of their corporate team, or are well integrated into their government laboratory research group. While it is easy to lump factors other than technical competence in one's job under the term "soft skills," this is an oversimplification. This book represents an attempt to have voices from all three pillars of the chemical enterprise - academia, industry, and government laboratories - heard in terms of relating what is important for their newly hired Ph.D.-holders. What You Need for the First Job, Besides the Ph.D. in Chemistry will be a valuable resource for first-time job seekers, as well as those with aspirations of a future career in the chemical sciences.
Call Number: QD39.5 .W43 2014
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Selected Science Careers Resources
A Guide to the Scientific Career by A concise, easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for writing research papers and career management In order to be truly successful in the biomedical professions, one must have excellent communication skills and networking abilities. Of equal importance is the possession of sufficient clinical knowledge, as well as a proficiency in conducting research and writing scientific papers. This unique and important book provides medical students and residents with the most commonly encountered topics in the academic and professional lifestyle, teaching them all of the practical nuances that are often only learned through experience. Written by a team of experienced professionals to help guide younger researchers, A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing features ten sections composed of seventy-four chapters that cover: qualities of research scientists; career satisfaction and its determinants; publishing in academic medicine; assessing a researcher's scientific productivity and scholarly impact; manners in academics; communication skills; essence of collaborative research; dealing with manipulative people; writing and scientific misconduct: ethical and legal aspects; plagiarism; research regulations, proposals, grants, and practice; publication and resources; tips on writing every type of paper and report; and much more. An easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for scientific research Emphasizes good communication skills, sound clinical judgment, knowledge of research methodology, and good writing skills Offers comprehensive guidelines that address every aspect of the medical student/resident academic and professional lifestyle Combines elements of a career-management guide and publication guide in one comprehensive reference source Includes selected personal stories by great researchers, fascinating writers, inspiring mentors, and extraordinary clinicians/scientists A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing is an excellent interdisciplinary text that will appeal to all medical students and scientists who seek to improve their writing and communication skills in order to make the most of their chosen career.
Call Number: View online
Publication Date: 2019-10-18
The Hands-On Guide for Science Communicators by This hands-on guide offers practical advice on all aspects of science communication. It features a tightly interwoven fabric of issues: product types, target groups, written communication, visual communication, validation processes, practices of efficient workflow, distribution, promotion, advertising, and much more. Extremely practical, the guide provides the necessary "shortcuts" to produce outreach products of high quality. All concepts are explained with simple terms and illustrative examples while check lists and short "to-the-point" overviews enable rapid progress and quick results. New science communicators as well as seasoned presenters will find this guide both helpful and inspirational.
Call Number: View online
Publication Date: 2007-06-08
The rise of the scientist-bureaucrat : survival guide for researchers in the 21st century by "Perez Velazquez has written a little gem that I advise reading to anyone persuing a scientific career, as well as for the general public interested in the sociological aspects of science. It alerts the reader about the rise of a new type of scientist, buried in bureaucracy and financial issues. In contrast to past generations, this "new scientist" is sadly left with minimal time to dedicate to creative work. It studies the consequences of this state of affairs, the problems associated with peer reviewing, the dilemma of funding innovative research, the nature of corporate academic culture and the trivialization of scientific achievement by grant agencies and universities. It also provides possible solutions for these problems. All this is magnificently exemplified and documented, including personal experiences from the author and a touch of humor illustrated in the accompanying cartoons. Despite the humor, it is a serious piece of work that would also be useful for the conscientious academic worried about the difficulties of the current research scene." Marina Frantseva, MD, PhD Jose Luis Perez Velazquez is a Spanish biochemist/biophysicist. He has a degree in Biochemistry and a PhD in Molecular Physiology & Biophysics. His research activities are mainly in the fields of the brain-behaviour relation at a high level of description, seeking principles of biological organisation. He worked as a senior scientist at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto and was Professor at the University of Toronto, where he taught a graduate course on consciousness and self-awareness, which derived in part from his book The Brain-Behaviour Continuum (World Scientific). He also edited the book Coordinated Activity in the Brain (Springer), and edited special issues for The Journal of Biological Physics, Frontiers in Integrative Neuroscience and Frontiers in Computational Neuroscience. Currently he is a Research Scholar at the Ronin Institute, where he continues to investigate a possible global principle, a scheme that combines theoretical studies and experimental observations, aimed at conceptualizing how consciousness arises from the organization of matter.
Call Number: View online
Continuing Education & Professional Development