| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).
| Citation Management
Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.
Do you need the Web or Desktop version?
- EndNoteA citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
Chemistry & Biochemistry Databases
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society journals, ebooks and proceedings; Chemical & Engineering, News; and Advances in Chemistry. 1879-present
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new windowContains physical science data, and physical property data of common compounds, both inorganic and organic. Latest edition.
- Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new windowThe full journal archive, plus current issues of the core collection of journals and ebooks by the leading publisher in chemistry. 1841 to present
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Chemical and related scientific information from Chemical Abstracts Service. Mid 1800s to present. Registration is required for use (instructions updated 04/23/2025):
- First: add registration@cas.org, passwordreset@cas.org, and userprofile@cas.org to your Safe Senders list in your Bobcatmail settings, in order to receive email from CAS.
- Then: register and create an account using this link.
- Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and life sciences protocols and methods for researchers from these combined collections: Springer Protocols (with 1 year delay), Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Open Protocol Exchange repository. 1980 to present. The library does not subscribe to all content.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowYearly reviews of the most significant research contributions in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Articles are written by recognized experts in each field. 1932 to present.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowContains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science; Technology Index (1958-1983), plus select full text articles from 1965 to present.
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
The industry's best known and most comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology. 1990 to present.
- ASTM COMPASS This link opens in a new window
Active and historical versions of all ASTM standards plus all ASTM published manuals, symposia papers, journals, books, and research reports covering metals, petroleum, construction, and the environment.
- Current Chemical Reactions (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
The latest synthetic methods reported in over 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. 1840-present
- Derwent Innovations Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Patent information and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. 1963-present.
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Articles from scientific journals and magazines published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Indexing from 1984, full text from 1994.
- Index Chemicus (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to chemical compound information. It is text- and substructure-searchable, and includes reaction diagrams. Covers more than 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. 1993-present.
- JOVE This link opens in a new window
View experimental techniques with detailed text protocols to increase scientific reproducibility and productivity. Includes Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Immunology & Infection, Molecular Biology (Core). 2006-present
- Landolt-Bornstein book series This link opens in a new windowMaterials science data on crystallography, structure and morphology of organics and inorganics, phase and surface data, electronic, magnetic, optical & electrical properties, atomic defects, and spectroscopic methods. 1961-2018
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowSearch chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
