Browzine
BrowZine is an app available through Texas State University Libraries and allows you to browse academic journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.
Stay Current by creating a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new issue and new article notifications. Get access on your computer, mobile device, or phone. Download the app for or Apple and android devices.
Browse Social Work journals on Browzine.
Search Tips
Search by keywords/small phrases and use Boolean searching.
AND: reading AND motivat*
OR: "phonemic awareness" OR "phonological awareness"
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases > "alphabetic principle"
Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text and/or peer-reviewed journals.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *. read* will retrieve: read, reading, reader, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
-
Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Example Citation: Choi, M., Lee, S.-Y., Kim, J., & Lee, J. (2024). The interaction of race/ethnicity and school-connectedness in presenting internalizing and externalizing behaviors among adolescents. Children and Youth Services Review, 161.
-
Journals/Periodicals2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in Journals/Periodicals, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
Example Citation: Choi, M., Lee, S.-Y., Kim, J., & Lee, J. (2024). The interaction of race/ethnicity and school-connectedness in presenting internalizing and externalizing behaviors among adolescents. Children and Youth Services Review, 161.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
LibKey Nomad is a browser plug-in you can download. If you find an article on the web, it will connect you to the full-text through TXST Libraries if we have access.