LibGuides: Social Work: Research Databases

Citation Management

Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.

Do you need the Web or Desktop version?

EndNote
A citation management tool that enables you to:

Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.

Databases

Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.

Education Source
Scholarly research in education & education-related social issues. All levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900-present.
ERIC
Education journals & documents (research reports, evaluation studies, curriculum guides & lesson plans collected by the U.S. Dept. of Education). 1966-present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies. Some linked full text articles. Citations to conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations.1970-present.
PILOTS - Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
Literature on post-traumatic stress disorder, acute stress disorder, any psychiatric disorder associated with exposure to a traumatic event. 1871-present
PsycINFO
Peer reviewed journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887-present.
Social Sciences Full Text
Covers anthropology, community health and medicine, economics, environmental sciences, geography, international relations, law and criminology, police science, planning and public administration, psychology, psychiatry, political science, sociology, and social work. 1983 to present
Social Services Abstracts
Social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, & community development. 1980-present.
Social Work Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles in social work and social welfare periodicals. 1977-present
Sociological Abstracts
Sociology, anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, political science, demography, and social psycholog. 1952-present. *
Sociology Source Ultimate
Sociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, and welfare. 1895 to present
Grant Funding
Library guide outlining grant-related resources available via University Libraries.

Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
Recently published textbooks paired with clinical demonstration videos and lectures, to illustrate realities students will face as practitioners, and structured around twelve important topics in the curriculum. 2000-present.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:

Library Links - FindIt@TxState

Bibliography Manager - EndNote (Desktop)
*** For EndNote Web, Under Downloads, use Capture Reference

Ulrich's
To find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library research databases accessible allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.

Streaming Video Collections

The Library also offers a number of streaming video databases. Below are a few that would be especially helpful for Social Work: