Bibliography Mining
If someone has already done research on a topic you are investigating you are encouraged to seek out the same sources. Sometimes you may find an abundant amount of material that wasn't important to them, but is perfect for you. Other times you may find you disagree with their interpretation, which will give you something to write about from a fresh perspective.
Theses and dissertations are a great place to find bibliographies (sometimes called literature reviews) Many can be found in this database-
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
Finding Secondary Articles & Documents on Early America
The library has many databases dealing with historical topics. A full list of those database is avilable here The databases listed below are some good starting points for your research.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Some key journals for research
Below are list of key journals in the study of early American history. To find out what is in these journals, using one of the databases listed in the box above is the best approach. Most databases also allow for limiting of searches to within specific journals so, adding a journal title to you search may help narrow your results.
Pennsylvania Magazine of History & Biography
Virginia Magazine of History & Biography
William & Mary Quarterly (Online access)
William & Mary Quarterly (print access)
These are just a few of the thousands of journals we have access to via the Alkek Library. you may check the Periodical List by the title of any journal to determine what access we have to that title.
- https://browzine.com/libraries/585/subjectsPeriodicals are resources that are published on a regular schedule, such as newspapers, magazines, or academic journals. Use the Periodical List to search by periodical title and find out how you can access it—in a database or in print.
