Reference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Entries cover all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Current edition dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri on multiple disciplines and subjects. Simultaneous user limit is 5.
Google Scholar Search
Search for library subscribed scholarly articles.
NOTE! This will only give you access to scholarly articles that Alkek Library subscribes to if you are on campus! If you are off campus and want to use Google Scholar to search far articles that we have access to please use the library's Google Scholar proxy link which is located on the list of G databases on the Research Databases page. And it does not find everything we subscribe to.
Suggested Art & Design Databases for Finding Articles & Images
Try searching our Start Your Research tool! It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials like images!
After you do an intial search in the box pictured below, look to the right to see related images. Under the Refine Your Results drop down on the left, click Show More to select Image Quick View Type, at the bottom of the refine search pop-up page. Please ask for help with this new tool if you need it!
Check the Databases list for more database descriptions and subject areas.
Art and Design Databases
These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Databases link and then under the Art & Design. Most of these are for finding articles.
- Art & Architecture Archive
- Art Source (used to be Art Full Text, now includes Art Index Retrospecitve)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Bibliography of the History of Art / International Bibliography of Art / Repetoire Internacional de la literature d'Art from The J. Paul Getty Trust
- Design and Applied Arts Index
- Art: Search (was DesignInform)
- Dissertations & Theses from ProQuest
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- Humanities Source (was Humanities Full Text, now includes Humanities International Complete)
- Infotrac Fine Arts and Music Collection
- InfoTrac Pop Culture Collection
- JSTOR
- Project Muse
- rhizome.org (covers contemporary art)
- Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries - built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.
Anthropology Databases
You may want to check the library's anthropology databases too. Here are a couple that might be useful. The second one is citations to articles only. You can use the periodical list to search and see if we have the journal the article appears in if you think it is something you need for your research.
History & Primary Source Databases
You can check out the list of all the library's History Databases but here is list of a few I thought might be useful for your class. Some of these contain Primary Sources. See the whole list of Primary Source databases:
- American Indian Experience - contains primary sources
- Latino American Experience - contains primary sources
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Other Possible Useful Databases
- Credo Reference
- Communication Studies Databases (often includes visual communication journals/articles)
- Newspaper databases
- Oxford Reference Online
Using Credo Reference to find Articles, Images, and More!
Credo Reference contains approximately 400 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books and images. Credo is also configured to search the Alkek Library Catalog to show books and other resources available in Alkek Library on your topic. You can also search in Credo for articles from several of our popular databases such as JSTOR, Academic Search, and ScienceDirect.
Another useful tool Credo has is a concept map which will show you a map of topics related to your search term with links to more information about the related topics. A concept map can be very useful when you are just starting your research and looking for ideas of how to narrow, expand, or direct your topic. To see how it works download this short Credo_demo. Or try Credo Reference yourself!