Search Tips
Search by keywords/small phrases and use Boolean searching.
AND: reading AND motivat*
OR: "developmental programs" OR "developmental education" OR "developmental studies" OR remedia*
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases > "alphabetic principle"
Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text and/or peer-reviewed journals.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *. read* will retrieve: read, reading, reader, etc.
Check Subject terms in database records and Author-Supplied keywords in the fulltext of some articles to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
-
Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Example Citation: Paulson, E. J., Holschuh, J. P., & Lampi, J. P. (2024). Using College Readers’ Eye-Movements to Discuss Textbook Reading Strategies. Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, 67(5), 274–282.
-
Journals/Periodicals2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in Journals/Periodicals, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
Example Citation: Paulson, E. J., Holschuh, J. P., & Lampi, J. P. (2024). Using College Readers’ Eye-Movements to Discuss Textbook Reading Strategies. Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, 67(5), 274–282.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.