Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager. Do I need the Web or Desktop version?
A citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize scholarly research. With Scopus you can locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.
Web of Science
Keyword and Cited Reference Search -- allows searching for articles that contain a certain author or citation in their bibliography. Useful for tracking how a known idea has been referenced or further developed.
Cabells Scholarly Analytics
Provides research writers with information for submitting articles to major journals. Search filters include difficulty of acceptance, JCR impact factor, average time to review and publication, acceptance rate, open access type, review type, Cabell's Classification Index, and open for submissions. Journal entries include Altmetrics and submission details. An alternate list aims to shine a light on the deceptive practices of the predatory publishers. Each entry contains the basic information to identify a suspicious journal.
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote
To find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library research databases accessible allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.