Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TH 4391: BFA Seminar - Theatre Design/Tech: Finding Magazines/Journal Articles

A course guide to library research resources for Prof. Cely's & Prof. Sousa-Wynn's students in TH 4391, the BFA Scenic Design Seminar Course.

Drama Research Databases

Suggested Databases for Criticism and Reviews
 

Art Full Text

Indexes, abstracts, and provides limited full text coverage of periodicals covering art, antiques, archaeology, architecture, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphics art, motion pictures, musicology, painting, photography, sculpture, textiles, TV, and related topics.

Art Index Retrospective

Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world.

Film & Television Literature Index

Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Humanities Full Text

Refers to articles and book reviews in over 290 periodicals in the humanities (dating as far back as 1984). Topics include theology, religion, performing arts, literary and political criticism, language and literature, philosophy, history, and classical studies. Available via the Library web with some full-text coverage.

Infotrac Fine Arts and Music Collection

Different types of art & expression. Includes coverage of the arts from music and music theory to drama and the performing arts.


InfoTrac Pop Culture Collection

Pop culture, media studies, television, film, advertising, art, history.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a collection of full-text scholarly journals covering varied subject areas. JSTOR provides photo images of articles and typically covers journals beginning with their first volume to fairly recent volumes (but never the 'latest' volumes). Full-text display is photo image, instead of plain text. Available via the Library web.

Literature Resource Center

Access to literary biographies and criticism, covering more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Includes several major Gale publications such as: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Contemporary Authors, and many more Gale publications. Available via the Library web.

MLA International Bibliography

Lists references to descriptive literature and current scholarship in linguistics, modern languages, literature, and folklore. Citations go as far back as 1926. Indexes approximately 3,000 literary journals and books. Available through the Library web.

Pop Culture Universe

American and world popular culture, past and present. Decade overviews from 1920s to 2000s. Articles, media, images, facts and figures.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1971 and early 2002.

Database Searching