Other Guides With Relevant Information
Image Databases
Check the Image Databases for a complete listing of Alkek Library's holdings.
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian magazine and newspaper advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. 1911-1955.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
- Art Images for College Teaching This link opens in a new windowImages of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art & architecture that can be used in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.
- ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
- Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on the history of women in the United States. This diverse collection ranges from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 This link opens in a new windowOver 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
- Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture This link opens in a new windowEssays on ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture, art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. 2000 BC to present.
- OAIster This link opens in a new windowDigital resources stored in over 1100 open access repositories all over the world. Full text books & articles, born-digital texts, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mp4, quicktime), & datasets (e.g., downloadable statistics files).
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
American and world popular culture, past and present. Decade overviews from 1920s to 2000s.
Browsing Guide
| Subject | Call Number |
| Advertising | HF 5801-6182 |
| Aesthetics | BH |
| Architecture | NA |
| Art Encyclopedias | N1-9165 |
| Art General | NX |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Drawing & Illustration | NC |
| Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics | TR, NC, Z200 |
| Jewelry Making | TS, TT |
| Music | M |
| Painters & Painting | ND |
| Photography | TR |
| Printmaking | NE |
| Sculpture & Sculptors | NB |
| Costume design & History | TT, GT500-2370 |
Finding Images in Books
Finding illustrations or photos of objects, people, paintings, prints, etc.
Also know that "pictorial works," "pictures," "illustration" or “___ in art” are legitimate subject headings that can be combined with any number of keywords to find pictures or illustrations. For example, “flowers in art” is a subject heading, or “birds—pictorial works,” or look at “Pictorial works” as a subject heading alone. It tells you: Search also: subdivision Pictorial works under names of countries, cities, etc., individual persons, families, corporate bodies, and under classes of persons, ethnic groups, and topical headings.
We do own the Illustration Index, Sculpture Index, and Havlice's World Painting Index (tells you what book has a reproduction or illustration of known works by known artists) and Martha Moss's Photography Books Index, volumes I and II, a subject guide to photo anthologies. If you do a keyword search under “catalogue raisonne” you will get all the books of the complete works (catalogue raisonne) of particular artists.
Finding Images in old Magazines & Newspapers
Do we own it?
Search by Magazine name: Check the Periodical List (online content) or Library Catalog (print content) to see if we have the magazine you want.
Search by Topic: Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1982-present) and Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) is a good source for searching Popular Magazines by topic.
Newspapers: Check online collections or search 3rd floor Microfilm shelves by Newspaper Title.
Print/Microfilm Collections
Microfilm, microfiche, and print journals and magazines published after 1980 are located on the 3rd floor.
Print Journals and magazines published before 1980 are shelved by call number on floors 5-6.
Art & Design Inforama
A blog for Art & Design Students and Faculty or anyone interested in art resources at Alkek Library and on the World Wide Web.
