Subject Guide
Finding Images in old Magazines & Newspapers
Do we own it?
Search by Magazine name: Check the Periodical List (online content) or Library Catalog (print content) to see if we have the magazine you want.
Search by Topic: Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1982-present) and Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) is a good source for searching Popular Magazines by topic.
Newspapers: Check online collections or search 3rd floor Microfilm shelves by Newspaper Title.
Print/Microfilm Collections
Microfilm, microfiche, and print journals and magazines published after 1980 are located on the 3rd floor.
Print Journals and magazines published before 1980 are shelved by call number on floors 5-6.
Streaming Video Resources
Search Films on Demand, a database of streaming video in various topics, for videos about Theatre, Dance, and Drama.
Fashion Databases
This is a selection of Fashion databases--be sure to look for more in the Art & Design and Image databases too.
-
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present. Contains reference works, ebooks, and images.
-
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowDesign and craft journals plus data on international designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. 1973-present.
-
Future Snoops This link opens in a new window
Forecasting and trend analysis for the fashion industry for men, women, boys, girls, accessories, and home. Provides information from worldwide retail floors, runways, and trade shows.
Search for Costume Resources in the Library Catalog
Search the library catalog for print and ebook resources related to costuming, movies, and more!
Finding illustrations or photos of objects, people, paintings, prints, etc.
Also know that "pictorial works," "pictures," "illustration" or “___ in art” are legitimate subject headings that can be combined with any number of keywords to find pictures or illustrations. For example, “flowers in art” is a subject heading, or “birds—pictorial works,” or look at “Pictorial works” as a subject heading alone. It tells you: Search also: subdivision Pictorial works under names of countries, cities, etc., individual persons, families, corporate bodies, and under classes of persons, ethnic groups, and topical headings.
Browsing for Costume & Fashion Books
Costume history books (including design and accessories) can be found in the GT500-2370s call number range, on the 5th floor shelves and Oversize area.
There are also costume and fashion design books in the TT call number area on the 7th floor shelves and Oversize area.
Costume Books in the Collection
Search the library catalog for print and ebook resources related to costuming, movies, and more!
See also these subject headings:
Tailoring Pattern Construction
Costume history books (including design and accessories) can be found in the GT500-2370s call number range, on the 5th floor shelves and Oversize area.
There are also costume and fashion design books in the TT call number area on the 7th floor shelves and Oversize area.
-
-
Fashion, Costume, and Culture
by
ISBN: 0787654183Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Image Databases
Check the Image Databases for a complete listing of Alkek Library's holdings.
-
Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian magazine and newspaper advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. 1911-1955.
-
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
-
Art Images for College Teaching This link opens in a new windowImages of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art & architecture that can be used in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.
-
ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
-
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 This link opens in a new windowOver 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
-
Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture This link opens in a new windowEssays on ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture, art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. 2000 BC to present.
-
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
American and world popular culture, past and present. Decade overviews from 1920s to 2000s.
