Media Collections at Alkek
If you are looking for audio recordings or videos of plays, you can search the Library Catalog by the play title, by author, or by main actor.
Most media content (videos, cassettes, DVDs, and CDs) at Alkek can be found on the 3rd floor.
There are vcrs, dvd players, and other formats available upstairs for playback.
Audio Databases
More Streaming Audio Databases can be found on the list of Audio Databases, which also includes Music databases for finding articles or encylopedia entries about music.
- DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new window
Recordings by New World Records and other independent labels. Includes a wide range of genres. 1975 to present. NOTE: Safari is not a supported browser.
- Music Online This link opens in a new windowAudio and video for teaching music. Spans all time periods.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical music from Medieval to contemporary. Access over 98,000 CDs from the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 375 classical, jazz and world music labels.
Criterion Collection
The library has items from the Criterion Collection. Click here for a listing of all Criterion Collection content in Alkek, or type in "criterion collection" as a keyword search.
Search for Videos & Movies in the Library
Search by movie title, director, or an actor's name
Wittliff Collections Reading Room
Some media content is housed in the Wittliff Collections Reading room.
The Wittliff Collections reading room is located on the seventh floor of Alkek Library. All of the materials are non-circulating and must be used in the reading room during the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Mondays through Friday. Access to archival collections and photograph resources is by appointment only.
