Legal Citations and Abbreviations
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation is the primary citation manual for American legal documents and publications. Utilized by both law students and practitioners, The Bluebook outlines a uniform system of citation that allows readers to easily locate cited authorities.
The Greenbook: Texas Rules of Form
Alkek General, Floor 6 KFT1275 .T4
Most Recent Issue Only retained
The Greenbook, published by the Texas Law Review, is a supplement to the Bluebook adopted by some law reviews. The Greenbook supplements it with regards to citation issues that are unique to Texas. Most of the rules are the same, but the Greenbook should be followed when there is a conflict in citing Texas authorities.
Key Reference Titles for General Information
Black's Law DictionaryFor more than a century, Black's Law Dictionary has been the gold standard for the language of law. This edition contains more than 50,000 terms, including more than 7,500 terms new to this edition. It also features expanded bibliographic coverage, definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms, and reviewed and edited Latin maxims.
Legal Research in a NutshellFinding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers major Internet resources as well as online databases and library materials, with almost a hundred illustrations of print and online sources. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject.
Gale Encyclopedia of American LawCovers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
