Government Information- what's that??
Historians often overlook a wealth of information on historical events published by the U.S. Government. Much of this material is available in libraries round the country in print form (Including the Alkek library) and, increasingly, in online formats.
Many publications of the U.S. Government fit the definition of a primary source, as defined in the tab at the top of this page.
Please Note: Some of our collection of documents does NOT appear in the online catalog. The Government Information staff have put together a guide HERE with more information about how to access the collection and how to contact the staff.
How to find out what's available
Since some of the items in our collection of government documents do not appear in the online catalog, here are some sources for finding out what is is available-
Start with the Catalog of Government Publications for the most recent materials (1976-date)
The U.S. Serial Set (see link below) contains a wealth of information on all eras of American history. See this guide for information on how to mine this wonderful resource.
- Legislative & Executive Reports This link opens in a new windowReports, documents, and maps either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. 1789 to present.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new windowIndex (including links to online sources) to the Catalog of United States Government Publications, including documents generated by the legislative and executive branches and other Federal Government agencies.
Coverage 1976 to present - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust makes over 8.8 million volumes of digitized book and journal collections available from some of the nation’s great research libraries.
Coverage: 1600-present
Many full text U.S. Documents available here. - govinfo This link opens in a new window
Provides free online full text access to official and final versions of U.S. Federal Government publications from the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial branches, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, United States Code (USCS) and more. 1793 to present.
Sampling of Government Publications
Handbook of North American Indians
Call Number: Government Information, U.S. Documents, Reference Shelves, Floor 4 SI 1.20/2:Although this set was never completed, it is a valuable tool for any research on Native Americans.
Here are just a few government documents that may be helpful. Some are more scholarly than others but, most include useful bibliographies and/or notes.
- Exploring the American West 1803-1879Call Number: Government Information, U.S. Documents, Floor 4 I 29.9/5:116
- Overland Migrations: Settlers to Oregon,California,and UtahCall Number: Government Information, U.S. Documents, Floor 4 I 29.9/5:105
- Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American EthnologyCall Number: Gov Info. SI 2.1: AND SI 2.3:Publication Date: 1880-1964The annual reports of the Bureau of American Ethnology began publication in 1879 and document anthropological research on Native Americans conducted during the exploration and settlement of the American West. Ostensibly scientific and therefore replete with detailed observations and illustrations. You can find more Smithsonian Institution Annual reports and Bulletins from the Bureau of American Ethnology in call numbers SI 2.1: and SI 2.3: respectively in the Gov. Info. collection on the 4th floor
- Explorer on the northern plains : Lieutenant Gouverneur K. Warren's Preliminary report of explorations in Nebraska and Dakota, in the years 1855-'56-'57Call Number: Gov Info, U.S. Documents, Floor 4 D 103.43/2:2
- Exploring nature's sanctuary : Captain William Ludlow's report of a reconnaissance from Carroll, Montana Territory, on the upper Missouri to the Yellowstone National Park, and return made in the summer of 1875Call Number: Gov Info, U.S. Documents, Floor 4 D 103.43/2:3
- "Dear friends at home--" : the letters and diary of Thomas James Owen, Fiftieth New York Volunteer Engineer Regiment, during the Civil WarCall Number: Gov Info, U.S. Documents, Floor 4 D 103.43/2:4
