Military Science and History: Online Resources

"Detailed A-Z entries list each country’s military organisation, personnel members, equipment inventories, and relevant economic and demographic data. Regional and select country analyses cover the major developments affecting defence policy and procurement, and defence economics"

Military-related periodicals and general interest magazines. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military. Include titles are Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.

History and Political Science. The documents and supporting maps in this collection explore the central role of Iraq in both the politics of the Middle East and the formation of government policy in the West from 1920-1973.

Government Documents. Declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations. Contains tens of thousands of the most important, declassified documents which have been gathered through extensive use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act. Many are published now for the first time. DNSA also contains the CIA Family Jewels Indexed.

World history, politics. The FBIS is the United States’ principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. Many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.

Drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, this database is comprised of over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections, and focuses on the War as it was fought from both Northern and Southern perspectives.

Considers a broad range of topics across the logistics, operations research, and supply chain management space. Each research article considered at the journal must contribute directly to the art and science of national and/or international defense. Manuscripts that develop innovative new ways of thinking about defense are especially encouraged. Successful manuscripts are theoretically sound, methodologically rigorous and practically relevant.

A peer-reviewed journal, is published bimonthly and aims to become the best international academic exchange platform for the research related to defence technology. It publishes original research papers having direct bearing on defence, with a balanced coverage on analytical, experimental, numerical simulation and applied investigations. It covers various disciplines of science, technology and engineering.

A peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal publishing original research articles in selected areas of military studies. Distinguishing from most other peer-reviewed journals, JMS’s approach is more military oriented focusing on technology management and exploitation, technological choices and requirements, tactical considerations etc. giving support to Battle Field Analysts as well as Academic Officer Education. The journal publishes articles on operational art and tactics, military technology and operational analysis, capabilities e.g. defence inventory and acquisition, military strategy and international politics, military pedagogy, military social sciences (human factors), military leadership and organisation, and military history.

The official journal for noncommissioned officer professional development. It provides a forum for the open exchange of ideas and information relevant to the NCO Corps. Its purpose is to support training, education, and development of the NCO Corps and to foster a closer bond among its members.

NCOs/POs are now empowered to assume added roles and responsibilities—with commensurate accountability—once reserved for the commissioned officer corps in each Service.

The Naval War College Review is a scholarly journal, published quarterly since 1948 under the auspices of the U.S. Naval War College and the Department of the Navy. The thoughts and opinions expressed in the publication are those of the authors and not necessarily those of the department or the U.S. Naval War College.

Includes:
PubDefense (peer-reviewed scholarly publications of DoD and ODNI/IARPA-funded research) and NDIA Conference proceedings.