V
Military Science - Call Numbers
Most books about the military will be in the U and V call number ranges. However, some books may be in the history sections, particularly the D call numbers. Topics related to technology and the military may be found in the T call number range.
Call Number Areas. Most military science books will be on the 7th floor of the Alkek Library.
|
U
|
Military science (General) |
| UA | Armies: Organization, distribution, military situation |
| UB | Military administration |
| UC | Maintenance and transportation |
| UD | Infantry |
| UE | Cavalry. Armor |
| UF | Artillery |
| UG | Military engineering. Air forces |
| UH | Other services |
|
|
Naval science (General) |
| VA | Navies: Organization, distribution, naval situation |
| VB | Naval administration |
| VC | Naval maintenance |
| VD | Naval seamen |
| VE | Marines |
| VF | Naval ordinance |
| VG | Minor services of navies |
| VK | Navigation. Merchant marine |
| VM | Naval architecture. Shipbuilding. Marine engineering |
Open Access Books
What is Open Access you might be wondering?
Open Access materials are FREE and can be accessed by ANYONE. Many of these are Peer Reviewed (examined by experts in a field).
MikeAMorrison / CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)
Drones and Support for the Use of Force by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780472131013Publication Date: 2018-11-07
Balancing Power Without Weapons by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781107181861Publication Date: 2018-03-22
- Large Scale Combat Operations
9 volume set of eBooks - Securitization of Islam : a vicious circle : counter-terrorism and freedom of religion in Central Asia
This book is from an Open Access Collection provided by the Library of Congress - The Purpose of the First World War : War Aims and Military Strategies
This book is from an Open Access Collection provided by the Library of Congress - Library of Congress Open Access CollectionFor more free and open books browse this extensive collection made available by the LOC
Military Science Classics
Epitoma Rei Militaris by Call Number: U101.V3 D3 2004Vegetius'Epitoma is the broadest ancient manual of Roman warfare. This edition is the first to be based on a comprehensive investigation of over 200 surviving manuscripts.
On War by Call Number: U102 .C65 1976
The Art of War by Call Number: U101 .S95 1963aWritten in China more than 2,000 years ago, Sun Tzu's classic The Art of War is the first known study of the planning and conduct of military operations.
Seven Military Classics of Ancient China by Call Number: U101 .W8413 1993. It presents us with an Eastern tradition of strategic thought that emphasizes outwitting one';s opponent through speed, stealth, flexibility, and a minimum of force--an approach very different from that stressed in the West, where the advantages of brute strength have overshadowed more subtle methods.
The Art of War by Call Number: U102 .J78 1971The greatest military textbook of the nineteenth century, this famous analysis of the art of Napoleonic warfare had a profound influence upon the military education of American officers in the decades prior to the Civil War.
History of the Art of War by Call Number: U27 .D34213 1990
Roots of strategy : a collection of military classics ... / edited by Thomas R. Phillips. by ISBN: 9780313236570Writings of Sun Tzu, Vegetius, Marshal Maurice de Saxe, Frederick the Great, and Napoleon are introduced by Brigadier General Phillips and provide insight into leadership, strategy and the technology of weapons.- Mao Tse Tung on Guerrilla Warfare by Call Number: U240 .Y8313 1992ISBN: 1877853100"Since its first publication in 1961, On Guerrilla Warfare has become one of the classics of military literature and the essential manual for understanding revolutionary warfare. In his translation, Brigadier General Samuel Griffith traces the development of Mao's strategic thought and assesses its impact on global affairs.
- Moltke on the Art of War by Call Number: U102 .M6732513 1993Prussian hero Field Marshal Helmuth Graf von Moltke was the architect of the German way of war.
The Battle of San Jacinto by ISBN: 9780876110843Publication Date: 1989Part of the inscription on the base of the San Jacinto Monument reads: -Measured by its results, San Jacinto was one of the decisive battles of the world.- James W. Pohl, a noted military historian, tells the exciting story of the pivotal battle of the Texas Revolution.
Department of Defense Collection in Government Information
The Alkek Library has a very large collection of Department of Defense documents in our Government Information collection on the 4th floor of the library.
- Department of Defense - List of SuDoc ClassesThis pdf lists the different "classes" of the Superintendent of Documents in the Department of Defense collection. These call numbers are for the books in our Government Information collection on the 4th floor.
Professional Reading Lists
The different branches of the United States military have reading lists. The descriptions are taken from the program's official website.
Chief of Staff of the Air Force (CSAF) Reading List
General Ronald Fogleman created the CSAF Professional Reading Program in 1996 to develop a common frame of reference among Air Force members -- officers, enlisted, and civilians -- to help each of us become better, more effective advocates of air and space power. Each CSAF since then has enhanced and continued the Professional Reading Program.
The U.S. Army Chief of Staff’s Professional Reading List
The U.S. Army Chief of Staff's Professional Reading List is divided into three categories: Armies at War: Battles and Campaigns, The Army Profession and Strategy and the Strategic Environment. These sub-lists are intended to steer readers to topics in which they are most interested. Each of these books is suitable for readers of any rank or position.
Coast Guard Commandant's Reading List
The Coast Guard Reading List provides recommended books related to leadership, Coast Guard history and culture, and contemporary issues. The list is not all-inclusive; the goal is to provide a starting point or expand existing knowledge and skills. This list has been transformed into a living reading list that will be updated as soon as new additions are approved.
U.S. Marine Corps Reading List
The Marine Corps Commandant's Professional Reading List (a/k/a the Marine Corps Reading List) is a list of required annual reading for all active duty and reserve officer and enlisted Marines.
U.S. Navy Professional Reading List
Navy Reading is the official website of the Chief of Naval Operations Professional Reading Program (CNO PRP), and is maintained by CNO PRP program managers at the U.S. Naval War College. The CNO PRP encourages a lifelong habit of reading and learning for all Sailors. Reading, discussing, and understanding the ideas found in the CNO PRP will not only improve our critical thinking skills, but will also help us become better Sailors, citizens, and most importantly, leaders. This list is not intended to limit professional reading in any way, but merely to provide easy access to a few of the many titles that will benefit our service.
The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs' Professional Reading List
This reading list has been constructed to support the renewal of our commitment to our Profession of Arms and the development of Joint Force 2020. The books selected capture the values and ethos of our military profession, promote innovative thinking to prepare for the operational realities of an uncertain future, and provide insights into the foundations of our service cultures.