Skip to main content

IS 4380: International Studies Seminar: International Business Law

Import and Export Print Resources

John R.Jagoe's export sales & marketing manual - everything you need to know about exporting rules and regulations. Covers licenses, container logistics, arranging for credit and everything else. Highly recommended.

Reference Works

Legal Systems of the World - research a country's founding legal principles

Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law - background on economic legal principles. highly recommended. 

Find a Law

Databases

EIU Country Reports and Profiles

Country Reports and Profiles from The Economist Intelligence Unit for Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru. Country Reports provide in-depth economic, political and business analysis and short-term market outlooks. Country Profiles provide detailed background on the political, economic and business environment.

Includes the general legal environment and very often the actual relevant laws governing foreign enterprise.

type your country and search under regulations tab. then choose "organizing an investment."

Print:

Digest of Commercial Laws K1005.4 D54 in reference section, main floor. contains most but not all major countries' commercial regulations.

Internet:

hint: search the words (in the appropriate language) commercial or civil code to find online laws. usually, contractural laws are in the civil code and business regulations are in the commercial code. 

example: codigo comercio "costa rica"

Treaties

Organization of American States Free Trade Agreements

U.S. Free Trade Agreements

GATT (General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade). Avoid www.gatt.org, one of the most famous protest sites on the internet.

UN Database of Treaties - All treaties entered into by any member state.

CIA World Factbook - see which international organizations a country belongs to. Choose your country and click on government to the bottom of the screen.

Treaties in Force - Treaties America has signed.

our databases:


Search Lexis Nexis for the full text of lapsed and current U.S. Treaties. I'm having a little trouble using it to find the European Union ones.

In Lexis Nexis, go to 1) International Legal Tab then 2) European Union, Commonwealth and Foreign Nations Tab (to the left) 3) scroll down from the selections and choose US Treaties in Force.

Websites

International Law links

hint: search the words (in the appropriate language) commercial or civil code to find online laws. usually, contractural laws are in the civil code and business regulations are in the commercial code. 

example: codigo comercio "costa rica"

Subject Guide

Charles Allan's picture
Charles Allan
Contact:
Alkek Library - Room 350E

(512) 245-3946

ca20@txstate.edu
Website