Skip to main content

IS 4380: International Studies Seminar: Find Statistics

Financial Statistics

Marketline Advantage -  Once inside, click on databases to reach their macro-economics statistics.

International Financial Statistics - From the International Monetary Fund. The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.

OECD - Statistics measuring productivity and global flows of trade and investment in countries around the world. Analyse and compare data to predict future trends. Browse statistics by country or by topic.

Passport GMID - This database also contains statistics on GDP, debt, money, savings, research and development spending and other financial data.

websites:

CIA World Factbook - Statistics on countries and rankings based on a variety of metrics.

Demographics and Development

Marketline AdvantageOnce inside, click on databases to see macroeconomic and market statistics. Company, industry, financial and country profiles that include company description, history, products, competitors and key employees. Industry profiles include segmentation, competitive landscape, leading companies,forecasts, economic performance, potential development and business environmental analysis. Case Studies offer concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies

OECD - Statistics measuring productivity and global flows of trade and investment in countries around the world. Analyse and compare data to predict future trends. Browse statistics by country or by topic.

Passport GMID - A global market information database with extensive industry, company, country and consumer reports and statistics. Reports on emerging industries, country and consumer trends.

Worldbank - Data catalog provides access to numerous datasets including World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Global Economic Monitor, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Gender Statistics, Doing Business Database, World Governance Indicators and much more.

websites:

CIA World Factbook - Statistics on countries and rankings based on a variety of metrics.

Imports and Exports

FAOSTAT - FAOSTAT is an online multilingual database currently containing over 3 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production , Trade , Food Balance Sheets , Producer Prices , Forestry Trade Flow , Land Use and Irrigation , Forest Products , Fishery Products , Population , Food Quality Control, Fertilizer and Pesticides , Agricultural Machinery , Food Aid Shipments , Exports by Destination Produced by WAICENT World Agricultural Information Centre, Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).

USA Trade Online - available only in the Alkek Library 4th floor in Government Documents.  U.S. export & import information on more than 18,000 commodities world wide. Features 2- through 10- digit HS commodity code (the more digits, the more exact the description)in the following data tables: Exports - current month & previous month, cumulative year to date, current year & prior year, annual two year, historical Imports - current month & previous month, cumulative year to date, current year & prior year, annual two year, historical.

Exports by Metro US Area.

TradeStats Express

Statistics in Marketline Advantage and Passport

Brief video that demonstrates where to find international statistics in Marketline Advantage and Passport GMID

Subject Guide

Charles Allan's picture
Charles Allan
Contact:
Alkek Library - Room 350E

(512) 245-3946

ca20@txstate.edu
Website